This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

    https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

WTB Riccia, anyone ship to PA?

Discussion in 'Trades, swaps, sales' started by Erk, Jul 10, 2007.

  1. Erk

    Erk Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    7:36 AM
    I would like to buy some more riccia....I have a small clump left from my last online purchase, but its not much, and its not growing....I think Ima let what I have left float, but I would be interested in acquiring more. If anyone has any to get rid of, let me know

    Thanks very much
     
  2. Frolicsome_Flora

    Frolicsome_Flora Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    7:36 AM
    If its not growing adding more is likely to be a bad idea, as that wont grow either!

    Riccia grows like wildfire if you get your tank right (about 5%-10% mass per day), if its not, then wait until your tank IS right. Riccia is a very good barometer to help you to tell your tank health, so keep an eye on what you have, when it starts growing, you wont need to buy any of it, infact, youll likely be pulling it out in handfully weekly.
     
  3. Erk

    Erk Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    7:36 AM
    Thanks Flora, I more or less have what I have left floating in seachems "the bag" cause I was worried it would somehow dissapear one day in my filter, or something. I think for some reason it just doesnt grow this way, and in the past, I put some on rocks, but then did the blackout, and now it looks like there isnt any riccia left on the rocks, and so I was interested in getting some more, so I can play with it a lil more. I have a nice piece of driftwood that creates a kind of "bridge" in my tank right now, and I would like to cover that with riccia, and I understand its supposed to grow fast, but it doesnt for me.

    I will start with letting it float for now, and see how it goes. The drop checker is green, but Im hopefully "Bill's 4dkh" solution will arrive today, so I can get a more accurate reading of co2 from that, then I have now with the solution I "made".

    I checked nitrates and phosphates last night, using the API test kit, just to see whats going on in there, since the blackout and dosing these dry ferts, and the nitrates are being used up, or so it appears to me, but the phosphates arent being used up so much. Last night the nitrates said ~10 and the phosphates were ~5, so I added some more KNO3, since im nowhere near the 10:1 nitrate:phosphate ratio.

    The algae is still MIA, except for some green algae on the back wall, but I didnt do a very good job cleaning it up before the blackout, and the only thing on the plants is what I believe is BBA (waiting on the surface skimmer to arrive off backorder on the 13th to increase the co2).

    I guess letting it float out of the bag is a good place to start with the riccia

    Thanks very much:)
     
  4. Frolicsome_Flora

    Frolicsome_Flora Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    7:36 AM
    riccia needs a good flow across it to grow, its a heavy feader, taking in huge amounts of phosphates and nitrates so long as it has enough CO2 to drive its growth. Dont forget it doesnt have any kind of root system, so itll need to be netted down.

    As far as your other plants intake is concerned, itll take a few days for your plants to wake up and start feeding. This is the most important time for you to get your CO2 right, if you dont have enough CO2, your plants arent going to take up anything at all, as its the availability of CO2 that allows your plants to feed in the first place.

    If you need a neat way of stopping it moving about, make a lassoo out of silicon tubing, block off both ends so it wont sink. You can glue it into a lassoo leaving a tail on one end of the circle, this tail you can then anchor to the side of the tank where you want the riccia to be, then place the riccia inside the lassoo, so long as its not got a huge current going under it, it should stay in place very nicely as any surface movement will be prevented by the tubing.

    Once your CO2 is good, and your ferts are good, then your Riccia will pearl like a crazy thing after about 2 hours of light, less in high (3wpg) light situations. If its not, then somehting is still way out. Go over everything again, if your dosing EI, then you can ignore all ferts and it MUST be your CO2. If your dosing as much CO2 as your fish will allow you, and its still not enough, then you need more surface movement.. aim a power head up slightly until you get your skimmer.
     
  5. Erk

    Erk Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    7:36 AM
    Thanks again very much Flora!! I love this forum!:)

    I will take it out of "the bag" and let it float and try to create your "lasso" idea...I have plenty of silicone tubing! I did have some tied down to rocks using the "shower puff" netting and fishing line to anchor it down, but since the blackout...it doesnt look like there is any left on these rocks:(

    I have a maxijet powerhead I can put in the tank until the skimmer arrives, so I can turn the co2 up! Great idea! I should have thought of that....so much to learn! lol!

    I figured the blackout was a setback to the plants, but they arent algae covered, and the rotala mac, and wallichi seem to "close up" shortly before lights off, so things def. seem to be looking up! That wallichi always looked like crap since I put it in my tank! Still no pearling, but im trying to be patient! haha....any ideas as to how long it will take till I can start to look for it? Sorry if thats a dumb question and one that doesnt belong here. I am dosing EI based on a sticky(I think) on here, that has the regime broken down into tank sizes...Im using the 40-60 gallon regime. I really do think the 4dkh solution will be here today....so I can see where im really at

    Thanks again very much!
     
  6. Frolicsome_Flora

    Frolicsome_Flora Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    7:36 AM
    I really think your nearly there Erk :):) youll have it sorted in no time. As a guess, Id say you just need to whoosh up your co2 a bit more, but you obviously have very sensitive fish in there so your right to be cautious. When you get the drop checker setup nicely thatll remove the rest of the guess work that your being forced to use now.

    The biggest mistake I made was trying to over complicate things by testing and inventing reasons in my head! Tom and the team taught me to go right back to basics because it was nearly always the case that Id missed something. It was one of the best lessons I learned.

    Your doing everything right, as much as you can until you get your purchases :) make sure your lights are low until your sure your firing on all cylinders, then you can turn the light back up, dial in the Co2, and watch your tank fly, which Im sure it will :)
     
  7. Erk

    Erk Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    7:36 AM
    Thanks again Flora! Im very excited to get to see the growth results everyone says these plants have! I do agree tho, I see light at the end of the tunnel!

    I have lights low for now, and I read on here somewhere that it may be a good idea to use my brighter 10,000K bulb for like an hour or two midday...so I was thinking about that

    I will let the riccia float in the "lasso" and put the powerhead in, and turn co2 up just a lil bit, and see what happens, with the drop checker

    Thanks again very very much:)
     
  8. Erk

    Erk Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    7:36 AM
    I put the powerhead in, and turned up the co2 a lil bit last night....will be interesting to see whats going on when I get home today!

    I have the riccia floating and last night about 3 hours or so after letting it float...it was pearling a lil bit!! :)

    I received the 4dkh solution, so I cant wait to get out of work, and go home to get it in the drop checker!

    Thanks again
     
Loading...

Share This Page