This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

worried about lighting....

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by kris_66, Jan 8, 2011.

1. kris_66

kris_66 Junior Poster

Local Time:
    3:39 PM
    Hello, I'm new to this site. I am worried about what lighting to get for my tank I am currently cycling.

I bought from someone off CL a 55g (48x20x13). I am new to all of this but have been doing a LOT of reading on different forum sites regarding aquariums and fish keeping.

I want to do a low light planted tank. Eco complete is my substrate. I know I will have crypts, vals, java fern, swords and hopefully have a taiwan moss wall on one side of my tank. I am just going to stock it with a couple BN plecos, dwarf honey guaramis, dwarf neon rainbows, cardinal tetras, and possibly harlequin rasboras. Simple community tank.

I won't be running any CO2 as I am NOT confident lol. Maybe in the distant future, but not right now. I was just going to use Excel flourish for ferts and root tabs if needed.

The lighting hood that came with the tank is I guess a standard one. Two hoods that have Philips Natural Sunshine T8 15w bulbs in each. I know this is not enough light even for a low light planted tank.

I read somewhere you need like 1-2 watts per gallon, and that it should be at least 6700K. I have been researching and researching all different kinds of lights and it seems the more I read the more I become confused and worried lol.

I found a couple of lights that I think might be good. Here are links...