This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

    https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Who uses a AM1000 CO2 Reactor?

Discussion in 'CO2 Enrichment' started by shane, Jan 24, 2009.

  1. shane

    shane Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    1:18 PM
    Who uses a AM1000 CO2 reactor? What size tank do you have and how many bubbles per second are you running (according to the integrated bubble counter in the reactor)?

    I am running 1-1.5bps according the integrated reactor for a 60 gallon tank. Just curious to see what other run.
     
  2. Jeff1192

    Jeff1192 Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    1:18 PM
    I am running an AM1000 on my 90 gallon tank. It's running at about 5 bubbles per second. It's a great reactor, very quiet

    Jeff
     
  3. shane

    shane Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    1:18 PM
    Wow, 5BPS? In the built-in AM CO2 bubble counter?

    I am wondering if I am running enough CO2, my drop checker reads light green at the end of the day. I am afraid of gassing my discus. I have already done it once.

    Maybe I should push my BPS to 2BPS and see what happens.
     
  4. Jeff1192

    Jeff1192 Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    1:18 PM
    My drop checker is more yellow than green by the time my lights come on and it stays that way until lights out. My kH is pretty high (13) so I don't rely on the pH/kH scale at all because according to my pH my CO2 is over 120ppm.

    Jeff
     
  5. Gerryd

    Gerryd Plant Guru Team
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5,623
    Likes Received:
    18
    Local Time:
    1:18 PM
    Hi Shane,

    I use to use one powered by a Mag 5 on my 180 for the longest time.....

    Was way too small for my setup at the time but it is a good reactor and it did the best it could:) Now use a Mazzei venturi.

    Do you know you can run c02 tubing from the vent valve BACK to the pump that runs the reactor so that any c02 gas from the vent will get recirculated?

    Tom gave us this idea and it works really well. I did it and it helped a lot.

    I gave it MUCH more than 5 BPS for years, it was a steady stream and uncountable.

    I think you can raise it SLOWLY (2 BPS is not overkill on a 60) and watch the fish and plants over several days. Remember that the drop checker just helps to know we may be in the ballpark, it is observation and adjustment over time that will tune into your setup. Your final BPS rate my be greater than you think.....

    Also as light or plant bio-mass increase, more c02 and other nutrients are needed, so it is not a set and forget thing. C02 can vary over space and time a great deal as Tom is always pointing out and remindng us, so it needs maybe not constant fiddling, but attention just like feeding and filter cleaning, dosing, etc.

    I am sorry to hear about your discus........

    Hope this helps.
     
  6. shane

    shane Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    1:18 PM
    I will push the BPS up to 2BPS and see what happens. In your experience, what is overkill on the CO2 in terms of BPS on a 60 gallon?
     
  7. ccLansman

    ccLansman Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    1:18 PM
    I am in the same boat with Jeff, i dont happen to use that reactor but i use a DIY inline that is the same exact concept. I also have high kh and gh so my checker is dark yellow 24/7 which would tell me its waaaay over 50ppm but i can guarantee from the plants perspective its not that high. I run about 9bps on my 60gal 2x65w setup.
     
Loading...

Share This Page