This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

    https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Wet/Dry filter advice

Discussion in 'General Plant Topics' started by feh, Jul 15, 2011.

  1. feh

    feh Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    2
    Local Time:
    10:53 AM
    I'm looking at the CPR CR1000 and CR900 wet/dry filters. The 900 is ( 20.5" x 10" x 15.5") roughly 14 gallons and the 1000 (20.5" x 12.25" x 15.25") is roughly 16 gallons after calculating tank volume based on their dimensions. Are these filters really big enough for a 75 gallon RR tank during a power failure? I'm guessing I'd need to expect to lose at least 2 inches of water when the pump is off... which I'm guessing would be around 7+ gallons. I just want to be prepared for the worst with this in mind. I do plan to drill siphon breaks in the return and drain plumbing as well as use a check valve on the return.
     
  2. feh

    feh Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    2
    Local Time:
    10:53 AM
    It helps any I'm planning to use an Eheim 1262 pump for the return but that might change.
     
  3. Tom Barr

    Tom Barr Founder
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,648
    Likes Received:
    556
    Local Time:
    10:53 AM
    I have a 900 for sale actually.

    I made a custom sump for the reef instead.

    It's plenty of filter.
     
  4. feh

    feh Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    2
    Local Time:
    10:53 AM
    So I don't need a 30 gallon capacity for worst case scenario with the display tank draining? I know the amount of bio media and so forth is plenty, but I'm looking at what-ifs like if the check valve failed to close on the return and things like that. Which is why I was asking about the water capacity with them.
     
  5. Gerryd

    Gerryd Plant Guru Team
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5,623
    Likes Received:
    18
    Local Time:
    10:53 AM
    If the check valves fail, you are in trouble regardless....

    Get a good one, ensure like you said you have siphon holes that will uncover quickly, and test shutting the system off several ways so you can see what happens for when you are not there...

    I think the sizes you mention will be fine. For reference I have the aqueon model 4 but I will have a bigger tank than you and I like it had 3 filter socks builtin. Plus a nice lid and a decent sump size.
     
  6. feh

    feh Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    2
    Local Time:
    10:53 AM
    What brand check valve would you recommend?
     
  7. Tom Barr

    Tom Barr Founder
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,648
    Likes Received:
    556
    Local Time:
    10:53 AM
    Eh?

    You drill a small anti siphon hole right at the max water surface height.
    No need for a return check valve.

    When the pump turns off........the siphon is automatically broken.
    The sump might fill up a gallon or two at most.

    Google "anti siphon hole aquarium return".
     
  8. feh

    feh Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    2
    Local Time:
    10:53 AM
    Yeah, I do intend to drill the return and the drain for siphon breaks. So you're saying the check valve would be a waste?
     
  9. Tom Barr

    Tom Barr Founder
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,648
    Likes Received:
    556
    Local Time:
    10:53 AM
    No need if the AS is there.
    That's the point, unless you have a bottom drilled tank without an overflow, but then it's just a check valve waiting to fail.
     
  10. feh

    feh Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    2
    Local Time:
    10:53 AM
    True. I'm tempted to go with the Proflex model 2... if I ever decided to break it down and do a saltwater tank with it I wouldn't have to buy a sump. Just have to find a good skimmer, replace the bulbs, maybe a bigger pump, and some nice power heads.
     
  11. feh

    feh Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    2
    Local Time:
    10:53 AM
    I've decided to go for the aqueon... its a little more but I really like the flexibility. Thanks for the advice. :)
     
  12. Left C

    Left C Lifetime Members
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,510
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    10:53 AM
  13. feh

    feh Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    2
    Local Time:
    10:53 AM
    Yeah, I saw them. The wet/dry option requires you to buy a kit that comes with the bio tower parts and media. I like this one because of flexibility, plus the filter socks act as a prefilter before water hits the bio tower. The only thing I don't like is how small the bio kit is for the model 2. I haven't bought anything yet. So I still have some time to think on it.
     
Loading...

Share This Page