This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Water Testing Equipment

Discussion in 'CO2 Enrichment' started by fmueller, Aug 31, 2020.

1. fmueller

fmueller New Member

Local Time:
    3:19 PM
    Hi Y'all,

I have been keeping fish since the mid 1970s. Low tech (non-CO2) planted tanks have always been my thing. This worked really well for me when living in Ohio. Now I live in New Zealand and have a 300x60x60 (10'x2'x2') mbuna tank that has been set up for 2 years and the plants are not growing, plus I am getting tired of cichids.

I have decided to make a radical change, start with CO2, and try my hand at breeding tetras.

I have done a bit of reading, and have lots of questions. The first one is, what testing equipment do I need?

For my cichlid tanks that has never been as issue once the tank had been cycled, ie ammonia and nitrite zero, nitrate barely detectable. I have automatic drip water change systems on my tanks, which keeps nitrate low. I am thinking in my current setup it might be too low, because the fish are small.

Anyway, I bought a cheap pH meter and have an API starter test kit. What else do I need? KH, GH, anything else? Are the API tests the way to go or is there an easier/better method?

Many thanks!

Picture of one of my old low tech planted tanks just to show off! :)

[​IMG]

2. Deanna

Deanna Member

Local Time:
    10:19 PM
    Some of these can be considered over-the-top and some are not critical, but they are a complete list of my personal favorites:

NO3: Salifert (freshwater or saltwater versions - good precision in the 5-20 ppm range and easy to use) and Sera (good for clear separation between 10 and 25 ppm)