This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

    https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Water Column Dosing?

Discussion in 'Advanced Strategies and Fertilization' started by aquabillpers, May 22, 2006.

  1. aquabillpers

    aquabillpers Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    3
    Local Time:
    7:52 PM
    A few years ago Tom and others posted about adding all required nutrients to the water column and using the substrate just to hold down plants.

    I was never able to get this to work very well in my non-co2 tanks, including the one I set up three months ago. The plants in that tank live but they don't grow very much, whereas in my soil-based tanks they grow like, well, weeds.

    In this 10 gallon tank nitrates and phosphates are at the proper levels, I add Flourish every now and then, and Excel at least weekly. Light is a little over 2 WPG, which is enough in another 10 gallon tank. It contains about 15 guppy-sized fish.

    Is anybody using water column dosing with an inert substrate?

    Bill
     
  2. quenton

    quenton Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    7:52 PM
    Re: Water Column Dosing?

    yes ... but not without CO2!

    With CO2, the only problem I have is pruning every week or more often.
     
  3. Tom Barr

    Tom Barr Founder
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,648
    Likes Received:
    562
    Local Time:
    7:52 PM
    Re: Water Column Dosing?

    Well, stop adding Excel once a week first off, either add it daily/every other day, or not at all.

    I've used old mature onxy/flourite with good success + water column dosing.

    You probabkly were not adding enough nutrients to the tank.
    Many folks dose the same amount to a substrate enriched tank as the inert substrate and then like to say the enriched substrate does better.........well, that is true if the inert substrate tank is limited.

    Adding 1(S)+1(WC)= 2, that's the enriched substrate
    Adding 0(S) + 1(WC) = 1, that's the inert substrate, you need to dose more if you plan to rely solely on the water column.

    Likewise, if you plan to solely rely on a substrate source: you need to add a fairly rich nutrient based.

    Doing both will give you the best result and the best growth.

    Regards,
    Tom Barr
     
  4. a1matt

    a1matt Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    5
    Local Time:
    7:52 PM
    Re: Water Column Dosing?

    Yes. I have just plain gravel... and it is working well :)

    The tank has been set up for 7 months. I took the gravel and ALL the accumulated sediment from a 7 year old tank that it replaced.

    Sometimes with and sometimes without (DIY) CO2.
     
Loading...

Share This Page