This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

    https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

water change question

Discussion in 'General Plant Topics' started by tedr108, May 6, 2008.

  1. tedr108

    tedr108 Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    9:08 AM
    When I do water changes, I send tap water directly into the tank with a Python setup. I have always only put enough Seachem Prime in to cover the new water only, not the entire tank. Is that what most of you do?

    I can't remember where I read it (perhaps on the Prime bottle), but somewhere I read that you should treat with enough conditioner to treat the entire tank's water when a water change is done. Seems like a waste to me.

    I have had no problems with fish health, even the way I do it now. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Carissa

    Carissa Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    9:08 AM
    There was a debate on this a while back. Some conditioners say in their instructions that you should add enough for the whole tank. The only reason we could see for this was that it would take longer for the dechlorination process to take place if you only add enough for the water you add, and perhaps in that small amount of time the fish would be exposed. I usually only add enough for the water I add, I don't believe in dumping extra chemicals into the water on a regular basis if I don't have to, and my fish seem fine. My water also isn't very heavily chlorinated either.
     
  3. tedr108

    tedr108 Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    9:08 AM
    Thanks, Carissa. Since I am seeing no ill effects (and I watched very closely a number of times), I'll stick with treating the new water only. Actually, I usually add an extra milliliter, just to be safe. I'm with you on not adding unneeded chemicals.
     
  4. VaughnH

    VaughnH Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    89
    Local Time:
    9:08 AM
    I was certain that the Prime bottle says to dose a full tanks worth of water each time, but the last time I squinted real hard to read the bottle I didn't see that. So, I'm not sure what the correct procedure is. I usually dose a tanks worth in any case.
     
  5. Gerryd

    Gerryd Plant Guru Team
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5,623
    Likes Received:
    18
    Local Time:
    9:08 AM
    With my super vision, I see this on the directions of my Prime (4 liter jug lol):

    'If adding directly to aquarium, dose based on aquarium volume'.

    They recommend adding it to the 'new water' rather than the tank, but either way is good per the direction label.
     
  6. VaughnH

    VaughnH Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    89
    Local Time:
    9:08 AM
    A 4 liter jug should take you all the way to the 22nd century! You needed more supervision before ordering that:D
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice