This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

    https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Using Phosban Reactor For Co2

Discussion in 'CO2 Enrichment' started by Jimtemp, May 29, 2018.

  1. Jimtemp

    Jimtemp New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    7:55 AM
    I'm in the process of setting up and installing pressurized Co2 into a 55 gal planted aquarium. After the frustration of searching for quality commercial Co2 reactors, I followed up on the suggestion from my LFS to use the Two Little Fishies Phosban 150 Reactor. It will be inline from an Eheim 2217 canister filter and a DIY inline PVC venturi for the Co2 inlet.
    My question is this: The Phosban Reactor has two barbed inlets/outputs on the top. One goes into an acrylic tube that runs to the bottom then out through a plate. The other just come in at the top. Which should be the input? My guy at the LFS thought it should go in at the top and out from the bottom though the tube.Your thoughts? Anybody have any insight or opinion on which is better? I attached a pic of the reactor. (I'm taking out the sponge pads on the top and bottom, don't think they're necessary). Thanks! PhosBan Reactor.jpg View attachment 13285 View attachment 13285 View attachment 13285
     
  2. toads74

    toads74 Lifetime Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    120
    Local Time:
    6:55 AM
    The input should be from the top, output from the bottom. You might want to put the sponges at the bottom to catch some of the micro bubbles before they leave the reactor.
     
  3. Jimtemp

    Jimtemp New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    7:55 AM
    Thanks. Do you think the Eheim 2217 has enough flow rate for this setup? This is a pic of the inline venturi.

    Venturi.JPG
     
  4. toads74

    toads74 Lifetime Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    120
    Local Time:
    6:55 AM
    I would think so. I ran a 2215 and an Ista reactor until recently and it did fine on a 20g.
     
  5. Jimtemp

    Jimtemp New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    7:55 AM
    Thanks, and I hope you're right. But I'm concerned that the two DIY gadgets above are alot bigger than the Ista Reactor, and my reactor is filled with bio-balls. I'm hoping the flow rate will be enough to dissolve the Co2.
     
Loading...
Tags:

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice