This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

    https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Total tank melt down

Discussion in 'Are you new to aquatic plants? Start here' started by yashaswibs, Jun 11, 2017.

  1. yashaswibs

    yashaswibs Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    3:21 AM
    Hi,


    I have a 300 gallon tank with a 60 gallon sump with a continuous water change system, 4 * t5 48 inch bulbs, CO2 at 1 bubble per minute which was set up for about 1 1/2 months. I added 20 Corys, and after about 10 days added 20 Rams. After another 10 days added another 25 rams.


    Over the next 4-5 days after adding the last set of Rams (from a reputable internet dealer, came very well packed ), i found 1 of the rams shimming (back and forth movement and fins closed down) and I increased the water change to about 100 gallon per day from about 50.


    Over the next 3-4 days, all fishes died - everything- cory's, Rams and even a Betta. The water became cloudy. I tried changing the water as much as I could and must have changed it completely at least once.


    I wrote off the initial loss as having too many fishes in an not yet settled aquarium.


    Over the next couple of days my heavily planted tank started to die as well- all of it- Cabomba, Anubia, plenty of Crypts ( all of which had been thriving up until now ) Swords of different kinds - everything. The leaves of Cabomba stripped right off, crypts started to melt, Java fern wilted, Anubias started to turn yellow.


    I have seen fishes die en mass. This is the first time I have an entire tank break down.


    Any idea what is going on?


    I recognize I have not posted any parameters because I have been very busy working. I will get a couple of days off shortly but I am still at a loss.


    Thank you for taking time to read through the post
     
  2. Pikez

    Pikez Rotala Killer!
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Messages:
    1,962
    Likes Received:
    1,465
    Local Time:
    3:21 AM
    Sorry about all that loss.


    I think you have two separate quality problems - fish quality and water quality.


    Fish with poor health. You NEVER put new fish into a 300 gal tank. Always quarantine new fish in small tanks. Keep it there for a month or two. When they are healthy and eating, add to big tank.


    I think your continuous water change system is probably at the root of the plant problems. May be some untreated water is getting through. ??


    Until you have pics and detailed parameters, it's hard to help.
     
  3. Mooner

    Mooner Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    7
    Local Time:
    3:21 AM
    Did you mean 1 bubble per second? 1 bubble per minute is nothing really.


    What method are you using for adding the CO2, i.e. reactor, diffuser?


    Sorry as well for the losses.
     
  4. yashaswibs

    yashaswibs Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    3:21 AM
    Thank you for your replies


    1. Water isn't treated prior to going into tank- there may be chlorine and chloramine issues- I hadn't tested for it but the fishes did ok for several days prior to everything dying. Quite likely I will need to check chlorine and chloramine levels and may add a filter prior to dropping water into tank


    2. CO2- i did mean 1 bubble per second- its just bubble into the pump, going through return pipes from basement to 1st floor. I did consider that CO2 dumping could have been an issue.. but it was consistent and a new CO2 tank.


    Appreciate your help
     
  5. rajkm

    rajkm Article Editor
    Staff Member Lifetime Member Article Editor

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    216
    Local Time:
    3:21 AM
    First, always treat water before adding. Since you are doing a continuous water change, you might want to add a carbon filter on the supply to strip off chlorine.


    How much water do you replace daily?


    Have you checked your nitrate?


    Also do you have a water report of your supply? It may be good idea to get your supply tested for copper etc.
     
  6. Pikez

    Pikez Rotala Killer!
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Messages:
    1,962
    Likes Received:
    1,465
    Local Time:
    3:21 AM
    You will need a large in-line carbon canister if you want automatic water changes on big tanks. Otherwise you will have issues like this. Until you have that, do weekly manual water changes with water conditioner.


    You have 360 gallons of water. Good CO2 equipment is critical. I'd guess that you need to be 10 to 20X higher bubble rate than 1 bubble per second. Get a good pH probe and calibration solution. Watch the pH instead of bubble count.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice