This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tap Water Vs. DI Water

Discussion in 'General Plant Topics' started by tjbuege, Jul 27, 2009.

1. tjbuege

tjbuege Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

Hi,

I've been using the AP DI Filter for a few years now, however I am considering ditching it and going back to tap water. I feel I should give a brief history of my past efforts, so please bear with me for a bit.

My initial reasons for switching to DI were due to algae problems. Specifically, my LFS suggested my local tap water had high phosphates and that I should consider RO or DI water. So I invested in the DI filter. The algae problems got better, but did not completely go away. I have previously attempted plants on a couple of occasions, but quit out of frustration, as I could not get them to grow to my satisfaction, and algae usually got the better of me. I'm sure lack of CO2 and proper lighting were major factors, along with *no dosing of ferts* (yes, you read that right).