This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. Support us by upgrading to the lifetime advertisement free version.

    Click here for more information.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

    https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Tap Water Parameters and GH Booster

Discussion in 'Aquatic Plant Fertilization' started by Singtoh, Oct 18, 2010.

  1. Singtoh

    Singtoh Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    3:15 AM
    Hello All,

    My tap water report from the city is as follows: This is Bangkok Tap, and I think most will agree that it is pretty good. With a Carbon block filter, and a .3 micron filter, I drink at least 3 liters of it a day(just as a side note) and what is listed below is only part of the report but all other params, are really clean.
    Conductivity=μmho/cm,344
    Total Alkalinity=95mg/l
    Total Hardness=110mg/l
    Carbonate Hardness=95mg/l
    Non-Carbonate Hardness=15mg/l
    Calcium=30.2mg/l
    Magnesium=8.16mg/l
    Nitrate as Nitrate=1.4mg/l
    Ammonia as Nitrogen=.02mg/l
    Silica=11.30mg/l
    20 gallon, CO2 injected and heavily planted, auto dosed EI.

    There are quite a few more results but I don't think they are relevant to my question, and some of the ones posted are probably not relevant. The reason I am posting is because I would like to know if it is necessary for me to use GH Booster?? I have made my own which I add 1.5 tsp every week with the aged water change water. My recipie is 200gr. K2SO4, 170 gr.CaSO4 and 120gr MgSo4, it's just a recipie I found on the internet. The main reason I am asking is because when I go to work in one of many armpits of the world for 1 to 2 months at a time, there are no water changes performed( girlfriend can't deal with it) and I was just wondering if the tap water I have could sustain the tank with Ca and mg until I exit the armpit and return to near the navel area:)You may be asking yourself what I am doing now that makes it work, well, I am between jobs waiting for the next gig, so I am just adding GH booster to the water change water, but my leisure time is coming to an end soon(I hope):cool:. K2so4 and Magnesium I could incorporate into my KNo3 and PO4 Auot doser solution if it is necessary, but do ya all think it is necessary. And what about Calcium? Not so easy to get that into solution and keep it there for an auto doser, maybe time to try to find wonder shells or similiar here in the land of smiles:D Just thought I would throw this up to you Guru,Expert, Einstien plant guys and see if I can find some joy. Thanks in advance for any help forwarded:D

    Cheers,:p

    Singtoh
     
  2. nipat

    nipat Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    3:15 AM
    I think Ca and Mg levels are very good.
    Still remember I always had a bit of lime stain problem while living there. :)
     
  3. nipat

    nipat Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    3:15 AM
    This is interesting question but I can't answer it.
    Anyway, without water change for 1-2 months, isn't it risky for other
    nutrients as well? I would consider going low tech. Or hire someone
    to change the water, or DIY an automatic/remote controlled WC system.
     
  4. Singtoh

    Singtoh Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    3:15 AM
    Hello Nipat,

    I do get a build up of calcium/lime in my tea kettle but it takes a couple of months. Risky meaning a build up of nutrients or risky for lack of nutrients? My plan was to lean down my auto doser dosing and just keep a small amount of nutrient in the water column, and of course I have the Osmocote in the ADA substrate. I don't really want to mess with an auto water changer just yet, one day I will but I was hoping to not do it for awhile. A friend of mine has his tank networked with cameras and auto this and that, bells and whistles, when hes on the rig, if something goes amiss, the bells and whistles start when he logs on to the network on the rig, then he calls his wife. But having said that, he grows lots of algae along with his plants, so his system is not perfect by a long shot, and not cheap. At the moment I am pretty close to algae free as I can be I think, and would kind of like to keep it this way:). Thanks for the reply Nipat.

    Cheers,

    Singtoh
     
  5. nipat

    nipat Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    3:15 AM
    I meant build-up. But then you plan to lean down them. So it's beyond
    my knowledge at this point.

    I think your friend's algae problem is not related to the rig,
    especially if it just does the water change, BTW.

    Cheers
     
  6. Tug

    Tug Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    9
    Local Time:
    3:15 AM
    As if working in an armpit wasn't bad enough.

    The worst part is finding someone to watch the aquarium, someone who knows what's going on or even cares. I hope you get some information more helpful then what I am about to say, if not I have two suggestions.

    Use the "wonder shell" while you're away.
    And, use Wet's calculator to adjust your nutrients.
    The calculator provides a model of the long term effects over time for the dose you use.
    http://calc.petalphile.com/
    Also found here,
    http://wet.biggiantnerds.com/ei/con_v_time.pl
     
  7. Singtoh

    Singtoh Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    3:15 AM
    Hello Tug and Nipat,

    Ya, but getting back to the fuzzy navel area is a real beauty after a month or so away:D. Wet's calculator is the one I use all the time, really handy, so when I go to the armpit, I will use it to scale back on the ferts a bit so it doesn't build up so much and re-supply the substrate before I go. For now I am just going to stop the GH booster since the tap has it in there and see what happens. I think it will be fine. Thanks for the replies.:)

    Cheers,

    Singtoh
     
  8. Singtoh

    Singtoh Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    3:15 AM
    Hey Nipat,

    A little off topic, but I was wondering if you know the name of a Medical or Dental supply place here in Bangkok? I am going to Suksaphan tomorrow to see if they have Glutaraldehyde, I can't really recall but I think I saw it there when I was there the other day(????). It's alot cheaper than Flourish Excel. But anyway, a Medical Supply or Dental supply place would have it, but when I do a search it just points me to e-trade websites, gives me the names of some places but no catalogs to browse to see if they have it. Just wondering??? Thanks Nipat.

    Cheers,

    Singtoh
     
  9. nipat

    nipat Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    3:15 AM
    #9 nipat, Oct 19, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 19, 2010
  10. Singtoh

    Singtoh Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    3:15 AM
    Thanks Nipat, I appreciate it and I'll check it out.

    Cheers,

    Singtoh
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice