This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

    https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

T5 lighting question

Discussion in 'Are you new to aquatic plants? Start here' started by stonecrabber, Jun 12, 2007.

  1. stonecrabber

    stonecrabber Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    6:09 PM
    I posted about my low-tech tank a while back and I'm finally getting around to the lighting.I have a new question about this project.

    My tank is a 150 gal.( 72x18x28 ) and Tom told me that 4 T5HO's would provide enough light for my plans.So here is my new question(s).

    Can I use standard T5 bulbs?I found a great deal on some T5 ballasts but unfortunatly they are not HO ballasts.I was thinking of 8 standard T5's that would give me a greater amount of lumens and about the same number of watts,but I am unsure if the standard bulbs will penetrate to my tank depth 28".Any information would be very helpful.
     
  2. VaughnH

    VaughnH Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    88
    Local Time:
    6:09 PM
    All light penetrates equally well when we are talking about typical aquarium depths. Clean, clear water doesn't attenuate light much at all over a 28" depth. So, if you have enough light for a typical 18" depth, for example, you have enough for a 28" depth too. But, high output (HO) lights are higher wattage than standard bulbs and ballasts, so if 4 HO bulbs are just enough, then 4 standard bulbs won't be. Just basic reasoning.
     
  3. stonecrabber

    stonecrabber Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    6:09 PM
    I re-read my post and I relised I didnt specify clearly what my intentions were.I wanted to know if I could use 8 standard T5's instead of 4 HO's.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - lighting question
  1. mexicatz
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    434
  2. DutchMuch
    Replies:
    12
    Views:
    436
  3. yashaswibs
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    138
  4. JKKomm
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    125
  5. rtague
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    102

Share This Page