T Barr, et al, are absolutely correct!

Paul G

Lifetime Charter Member
Lifetime Member
Sep 28, 2011
Independence MO
I've been keeping FW tank(s) for a many years, so naturally assumed I had gained some expertise through experience. Oh, the hubris! Just a couple of years ago, after first setting up the 210 gallon display now in operation, I started to pay attention to Walstad, Barr, and others - new insights, very enlightening. I was having difficulties getting plants started, and was fighting algae constantly.

I reached the decision that I would ignore all preconceptions, drive out the myths, do some serious studying, and find a way to get success that other people were demonstrably able to achieve.

I won't make this a litany of all my experiences, as those of you who have already succeeded will be bored, and, in any case, I would rather not embarrass myself describing some of the truly dumb things I did before I learned better.

But I will share the following, as a testimonial:

1.) Excess phosphate and/or nitrate do not promote algae. That phosphate is algae promoter was the most difficult myth to give up, as the implication that it is true seems to permeate the hobby still. Tom has said that if there is any one nutrient that might be described as an algae promoter, that would be ammonia/ammonium. In a properly managed aquarium, between the plants and the biofilter, this should never be an issue.

2.) Establish and maintain stable water chemistry. Settle on a kH and pH relationship which will be a reasonably good predictor of CO2 dissolution. Keep the GH well up so there is no chance of electrolyte shortage. Forget about establishing some special softness or acidity target for your favorite tetra or rasbora - keep it sensible, at least. Peat-filtering is for breeders. An occassional dose of humus organics in a trace/vitamin supplement is sufficient for karmic purposes!