This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

    https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Substrate care

Discussion in 'General Plant Topics' started by ccLansman, Jan 16, 2009.

  1. ccLansman

    ccLansman Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    11:53 AM
    Is there anyone here who can point me in the right direction. What sorts of warning signs should we be looking for in the substate that the substate is harboring detrimental bacteria growth. I believe they are making ammonia..??. Could this lead to poor plant growth due to roots not being able to dig down into this stuff. Should i be vaccuming deep down into the substrate or mixing it up?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Tom Barr

    Tom Barr Founder
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,657
    Likes Received:
    583
    Local Time:
    11:53 AM
    Smell, Schtank, Stunk.

    If you get nasty gas smell, H2S, rotten egg and a lot of it, then yes.
    I think a little is fine, just not too much mulm accumulated in sediments.

    I clean it out every so often, months or yearly etc.

    Deep vacuum etc. Sometimes not. If I add more CO2, light nutrients etc, do water changes, add carbon, clean filters etc and plants will not grow well in some spots, but not others, I look at CO2.

    Once you have ruled out everything else, then you can go after sediment. The only things that causes this are too much organic matter or fresh soil that's not been oxidized yet, Aponogeton bulbs that are rotting and non viable to begin with etc.

    That's about it.

    Regards,
    Tom Barr
     
  3. shane

    shane Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    11:53 AM
    On that note, how long does substrate last? How often does it need to be changed out? In my particular case, I use ADA Amazonia. How long does ADA substrate last?
     
  4. VaughnH

    VaughnH Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    88
    Local Time:
    11:53 AM
    I have never "worn out" a substrate. I always get restless and want to try something else, which leads me to using a different substrate and dumping the old one out. Eventually the nutrients locked into ADA aquasoil have to run out, but I can't recall reading about anyone who has been sure that happened. Much more common is for some substrates to get mushy, become mud, and be replaced for that reason, but I think that was only with one particular brand of substrate - not ADA.
     
  5. shane

    shane Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    11:53 AM
    If you use ADA aquasoil, how long have you had it in your tank for? I have had the same ADA Amazonia for 2 years.
     
Loading...

Share This Page