This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. Dismiss Notice
  2. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

    https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Staghorn

Discussion in 'Algae Control' started by ismenio, Jan 25, 2010.

  1. ismenio

    ismenio Lifetime Members
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    4:37 AM
    Hy

    About two days ago appear at the top of some plants and in the front glass staghorn algae.
    I have clean the filter and and made a water change, and since i have found the NO3 was at zero and the PO4 at 1 i have increase the EI two times at week since i don´t i have CO2.
    At the glass the staghorn have turn red i don´t no why and have been removed but in the leaves of plants they are dark green.

    My question is? Can i turn down the lights for a couple of days to try kill the staghorn?

    Regards

    PS: I don´t have CO2
     
  2. dutchy

    dutchy Plant Guru Team
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,280
    Likes Received:
    2
    Local Time:
    4:37 AM
    Since no one is answering:
    Turning down the light for a couple of days won't kill the staghorn. It grows even with almost no light. Staghorn can be caused by an excess of NH4. Always do a water change after working in the tank, but don't do them once a week, more like once a month or less. Read Tom's Non Co2 method: http://www.barrreport.com/showthread.php/2817-Non-CO2-methods

    Never let your micro's and macro's bottom out.

    regards,
    Dutchy
     
  3. ismenio

    ismenio Lifetime Members
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    4:37 AM
    Thanks Dutchy

    Since i have increase the macro´s the staghorn has stopped and i have only do a blackout of two days.
    If i have excess of NH4 the test don´t have accused but it´s possible i have some trace o NH4 in the water.
    I have remove the manually the rest of staghorn and until today no more have appears, i hope for ever.

    Thanks for your help.

    Regards
     
  4. ismenio

    ismenio Lifetime Members
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    4:37 AM
    #4 ismenio, Feb 5, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 5, 2010
  5. ismenio

    ismenio Lifetime Members
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    4:37 AM
    Sorry, maybe i´m boring all you folks with this question.

    If i remove the leaves with staghorn they apear again after a couple of days.
    What should i do? PO4 is a 2 ppm and NO3 at 20 ppm (more or less)
    I can´t do a water change cause i have i fry of apistogrammas cacatuoide and i´m afraid of sucking them .

    Regards
     
  6. Wet

    Wet Lifetime Members
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    4:37 AM
    Python works fine with a pond mesh planter or panty hose rubber banded around intake. I've never had Apisto fry but I'm guessing you'll likely want to drain slow anyway. That stuff helps break up the flow on refill, too.

    Let me do my Tom impersonation: "More CO2." Pretty good, right? :) I think this algae is your tank telling you you have to adjust here.

    Underrated with stuff like staghorn is to mess with it. When you pull it, rub those attachment spots out with your fingers. Drain past it and dump Excel or H2O2 on it. Water changes afterwards, of course. Just mess with this lower order stuff and it helps it from bouncing back and therefore is easier to beat after adjusting CO2.
     
    #6 Wet, Feb 15, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 15, 2010
  7. Gerryd

    Gerryd Plant Guru Team
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5,623
    Likes Received:
    18
    Local Time:
    4:37 AM
    Hi,

    Czado, the poster does not use c02....

    Insemnio,

    What type of filtration and tank size? What type of lighting and duration? Substrate?

    I have never had staghorn so could not answer your question and thus did not respond earlier. It is not 'boring' to see your questions.....

    I thought that reviewing your overall setup may point out some issue.......
     
  8. dutchy

    dutchy Plant Guru Team
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,280
    Likes Received:
    2
    Local Time:
    4:37 AM
    Ismenio,

    No boring questions at all.

    Can you measure the NH4 level? You can also start to "save" CO2 by the usual methods as less light intensity and less light duration. Depends on what you're using now. (see post Gerry). Be careful of using Excel with your fry. Don't overdose.
     
    #8 dutchy, Feb 16, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 16, 2010
  9. ismenio

    ismenio Lifetime Members
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    4:37 AM
    Thanks all you people

    Czado i don´t have CO2 but if necessary i can use Excel

    Gerry i have a tank with 20 Gallons and a Fluval 105 with a basket full of siporax mini and the other basket full of eheim substrat pro, two pll bulbs of 24 W 7200 K made in china i think but only one is used (the other is disconnected) and i turn on by eight hours day.
    The substrat is a mix of HS aqua Humalit and Prodac Humus and at the top black gravel medium size

    Dutchy i have the API test and the Hagen test and both give 0, at 13/2/2010 the NO2 was 0 , NO3 - 20 ppm , PO4 - 2 ppm , KH - 2 dK , GH - 7 and PH at 6.8

    Any ideas after this ?

    Regards
     
  10. dutchy

    dutchy Plant Guru Team
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,280
    Likes Received:
    2
    Local Time:
    4:37 AM
    To me everything looks ok, but you still have a CO2 shortage. Do your plants grow?

    What I would do is start using Excel in the normal dosage. It will make your plants grow by providing in a C-source and works against the staghorn. When using the excel you can also start to do 50% waterchanges.

    Regards,
    dutchy
     
  11. ismenio

    ismenio Lifetime Members
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    4:37 AM
    Hello Dutchy

    My plants grow well, now regarding the use of excel you say to use always correct? In that case probably its better considering the use of co2 ! What do you think?

    Regards
     
    #11 ismenio, Feb 17, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 17, 2010
  12. Tug

    Tug Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    9
    Local Time:
    4:37 AM
    Hi Ismano,
    For a twenty gallon tank a DIY CO2 would be an easy fix, but the needed sugar can be expensive in the long run. A one gallon size yeast reactor will use between three and four cups of sugar every two weeks and it may not even solve all your algae issues. Yeast is a live culture, often erratic at times and CO2 fluctuations can cause problems. Try improving the water flow for your tank first. A flow rate of 85gph (Fluval 105) is on the low side. If you do go with CO2 it's even more important to find an efficient way of dispersing CO2 into the tank. Needle wheel/powerheads work well for small tanks but some people don't like the clutter. So, start by improving the flow rate and see what that does.
     
  13. dutchy

    dutchy Plant Guru Team
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,280
    Likes Received:
    2
    Local Time:
    4:37 AM
    I think it depends on what your goal is. If you want faster plant growth, CO2 is an option. I would not start to use CO2 just as a reason to kill algae. Starting to use CO2 can kill your staghorn, but can also be a reason for growth of other algae if not done the right way. If you are happy with the growth you have, using Excel is a good intermediate option that will make your plants grow and work against the algae at the same time.
    If you OVERDOSE Excel it can kill your fry. So if you use it, keep the normal dosage, no more.

    regards,
    dutchy
     
  14. ismenio

    ismenio Lifetime Members
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    4:37 AM
    Thanks Tug and Dutchy.

    I have already put a mini pump to increase the water circulation.
    I´m waiting for the Excel from my local dealer and until then i have cut for 4 hours the light.

    Has soon has possible i will put some photos for all see how it´s going on my fight agains the staghorn.

    Thanks all of you.

    Regards
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice