This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. Dismiss Notice
  2. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Roarke's first iwagumi (20G long)

Discussion in 'Journals' started by roarke, Oct 25, 2017.

1. roarke

roarke New Member

Local Time:
    1:41 PM
    Hey all! New here, I hope I can bring something to the table.

I'm new so I can't link stuff yet, hopefully the attached image of the tank and stand works.

Lets start with some goals:
    1. Clean tank, meaning as few gizmos visible as possible.
    2. Quiet, this tank will be a foot or two away from our main couch where we spend too much of our time.
    3. As minimal maintenance as possible for a planted tank. I'm a programmer and I hate repeating tasks that can be automated.
    4. And obviously, a gorgeous landscape with a bright green carpet with lots of room for some schooling or shoaling fish to roam.
    Planned hardware:
    1. Aquatop cf500uv: Going with a canister filter for the noise issue, and I'm very inexperienced with wet/dry sumps. A canister filter will present some challenges later on though. This is about the biggest canister filter I can fit in the stand. I was looking to get the cheaper sunsun 704 but it looks like its out of stock @ amazon and I'd like a warranty.
    2. Finnex Planted+ 24/7. Not exactly high lighting, but the tank will be less than 12 inches deep with substrate in it.
    3. Custom made dual stage co2 Regulator with a 5 pound tank on a timer.
    4. Ista Inline heater. One of the challenges a canister filter provides is there is no sump to hide equipment. I've never used one of these and I'm unsure of the effectiveness or how they affect flow.