This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

    https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

reactor ?

Discussion in 'CO2 Enrichment' started by trong, Nov 22, 2009.

  1. trong

    trong Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    1
    Local Time:
    6:46 AM
    if i have a DIY reactor made from 2' PVC that 13" tall, with 3 bubble per second of co2 going to it and an ehiem pumping some (rated)200 GPH through it , would pumping more water through it with an additional pump give a higher concentration of co2 in the tank?
     
  2. Gerryd

    Gerryd Plant Guru Team
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5,623
    Likes Received:
    18
    Local Time:
    6:46 AM
    Hi,

    That is a nice size reactor. More flow will help I think, but a higher bubble rate may also be needed :)

    Is the ehiem powering anything else or is it dedicated to the reactor?

    Also, what size inlet/outlet are you using???
     
  3. trong

    trong Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    1
    Local Time:
    6:46 AM
    ehiem is dedicated, and is 1/2 inpvc in and out. after exiting reactor it splits to a tee for 2 inlets to tank (80 gal). i am thinking right ?arent i? more flow faster saturation?
     
  4. Biollante

    Biollante Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,210
    Likes Received:
    1
    Local Time:
    6:46 AM
    Hi,

    If the efficiency of your reactor is such that the water passing through the reactor is CO2 saturated, then increasing the water flow would move more CO2 into the tank.

    As Gerry points out you may have to increase the CO2 (gas) into the reactor to maintain the level of CO2 in solute to increase the amount of CO2 available for the tank.

    In general the longer the water remains in the reactor the more CO2 gas is dissolved into the water.

    Biollante
     
  5. trong

    trong Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    1
    Local Time:
    6:46 AM
    my diy reactor has been running for a few weeks now and co2 concentration in the tank isn't what i was hoping for. the reactor sounds like its perculating, which is where my ? comes from. if it's perculating im asuming an excess (or pleanty)of co2 inside reactor? or is it O2?
    my brain tells me to increase flow to expose more water to co2....right?
    there are no leaks, and co2 is off at night. the reactor is the diy one from sfbaas
    this is really 3 more ?'s
     
Loading...

Share This Page