This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Unfortunately for Photobucket users, things have changed in a big way as of June 26th they are rolling out a $399 per year subscription fee for those who want to hotlink images from Photobucket’s servers to display elsewhere.
    This does not mean it only affects this site, It now means that billions of images across the Web now display an error message instead of the image in question. :(
    https://barrreport.com/threads/attention-photobucket-users.14377/
    Dismiss Notice

reactor question

Discussion in 'General Plant Topics' started by Protint, Mar 23, 2005.

  1. Protint

    Protint Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi New subscriber to the board here. I recognize a few names from other boards. I belong to Window Tinting message boards also and have found that the planted aquarium world is just as small as the window tinting world.

    I have had a mild to bad case of BGA for quite sometime. I have used the three day blackout per Tom's instructions successfully only to have the BGA return.

    I am useing pressurized C02 with a reactor 200 I ordered from Floridadriftwood. It is the one with the powerhead on the top with the sponge on the bottom (that gets all clogged up and falls out every two to three days). This reactor is supposed to be rated for large tanks up to 200g. I can't seem to get my C02 level past 24ppm (per a redsea test kit). No matter how fast I pump the C02 into the reactor the C02 level never gets past 24ppm. I was thinking that this reactor isn't big enough. Could I be correct? Would an inline reactor like the reactor 1000 with the black bioballs work better?

    Forgive my ignorance or lack of terms. I am new to planted aquariums and am typeing this at 0430 9 1/2 hours into a 12 hour shift. :eek:

    Thanks in advance for your replies. I am glad I joined.
     
  2. Tom Barr

    Tom Barr Founder
    Staff Member Administrator Social Group Admin

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,441
    Likes Received:
    299
    Re: reactor question

    Unless you added the KNO3 back, the BGA willr eturn in a few days after a blackout.

    The CO2 reactor I have on this site(see venturi DIY public archives) is better than that one they sell.

    How do I know? That one was modeled after my design, I had it on the side but swaped the placement for the top. Mine has, nor needs any sponge and does not clog if you use it on a timer ever.

    Flow is better and the venturi action allows better dissolution/purging.

    Regards,
    Tom Barr
     
  3. fosteder

    fosteder Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: reactor question

    Tom is right (of course). I started using his reactor design a few weeks ago. Prior to this I used an inverted bowl design, a DIY reactor similar to the one you are having issues with (sponge, tube, powerhead) and the intake to my HOB filter. The intake of my HOB worked the best out of those option....but even then I was only getting around 18-25 (using a ph-kh chart). Now with his venturi reactor design I am seeing levels of 40-45 ppm. No algae.

    You need to dose KNO3. During the blackout and after!
     
  4. Protint

    Protint Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: reactor question

    Thanks for the replys.

    I did dose KNO3 after the blackout. I am thinking that the C02 isn't high enough and that aloud the BGA to return.

    I dose
    KNO3 1 tablespoon Sat-Mon-Wed
    K2SO4 1 tablespoon Sat-Mon-Wed
    KH2PO4 1/4 teaspoon Sat-Mon-Wed
    CSM+B 1/4 teaspoon Sun-Tues-Thurs

    50% Water changes on Saturday.

    I was also doesing to much KH2PO4 when I first got started. I don't have anyway of testing for phosphates out of the tap. There is alot of farming around here so I am guessing that the phosphate level in the tap is high. I am going to cut back on KH2PO4 and see if it works.

    I am going to do another blackout along with a new reactor and start over again.
     
  5. AV8TOR

    AV8TOR Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: reactor question

    Tom I know you mention a Rio 180 in one of your posts, is that what is shown in the photo? It does not look like a Rio to me.

    I am intrigued by your design and thinking of making one although I am having no problems maintaining 30-35 ppm with my diffuser. I take it with the 3/16” CO2 supply tube you don’t really need an additional bubble counter do you?

    For a 55 gallon do you recommend the 4” or 6”?

    Thanks
    Ray
     
  6. fosteder

    fosteder Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: reactor question

    you must dose KNO3 right before the black out as well. Or it will come right back. :(
     
  7. Laith

    Laith Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: reactor question

    How big is your tank? Hopefully pretty big for those dosages... :eek:
     
  8. Protint

    Protint Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: reactor question

    Laith it's a 200g. I just have the substrate and a few pieces of lace rock. I am figureing it is more like a 180g.

    Hope I am not overdueing it. :confused:
     
  9. Laith

    Laith Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: reactor question

    Should be ok for a 200g, maybe a tiny bit on the high side.

    I was just making sure you weren't pouring those amounts into a 55g! :eek:

    Would love to get a big tank like that one day. But the amount of plants you need is huge!
     
  10. Tom Barr

    Tom Barr Founder
    Staff Member Administrator Social Group Admin

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,441
    Likes Received:
    299
    Re: reactor question

    Rio 180 it is.
    The bubble counter is the tube itself.
    Another reason I don't use separate bubble counters.

    Clean that tank good, large tanks are not easy, make sure there's no light and also good conditions afterwards, clean the tank and the filter good also.


    Regards,
    Tom Barr
     
Loading...

Share This Page