This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Ppm Interpretation?

Discussion in 'Rotala Butterfly Support & Feedback Forum' started by fkoki, Apr 30, 2020.

1. fkoki

fkoki New Member

Local Time:
    11:53 AM
    Hi everyone, first time posting here looking for some clarification on the ppm measurement unit.

I was doing some calculations on my own trying to figure out if the calculator is actually outputting correct numbers and my own results kept disagreeing with the calculator's. I think the problem may be that I'm misinterpreting the ppm measurement unit. I'm a third year student of biology but I've never encountered ppm being used for anything other than gasses in air (eg. CO2). As far as I can tell ppm is a pretty loosely defined unit of measurement so could anyone tell me how the calculator defines it? Is it weight over weight, weight over volume, weight over moles, moles over moles etc.? (cant write the abbreviations because it thinks I'm submitting a URL :p)

2. Koen

Koen New Member

Local Time:
    Hi fkoki, the ppm measuring unit in solutions refers to weight over volume, and is defined as mg/L.
    I hope this will help you to verify your numbers with the calculator.

3. Allwissend

Allwissend Article Editor
    Staff Member Lifetime Member Article Editor

Local Time:
    I was just thinking about writing a short article on this today so here goes the draft :)