This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Possible to have dream planted tank and without CO2 injection?

Discussion in 'Non-CO2 Methods' started by jfritz42, Jul 9, 2013.

1. jfritz42

jfritz42 Junior Poster

Local Time:
    5:31 AM
    Hi all! I'm fairly new to BarrReport and would love to get some advice.

Here is a picture of my "dream planted tank"

I'm hoping to copy this tank AND do it with dry-start-method and without CO2 injection, using AquaSoil Amazonia as substrate due its high nutrient content and then not dose liquid fertilizers and do very few water changes. I have 110 watts of T5HO fluorescent lights.

1) Is that possible? Or is the tank too densely planted to expect this look?

2) Could you help me identify the plant types?

3) The plants in the background seem to be planted on top of rocks. If so, how are they attached?

Some background: I have a 55 gallon tank with plants and CO2 injection. It's been a first-time attempt, and I've struggled over 2 years to investigate dosing and injection methods. I bought all the plants randomly from Petsmart and have had difficulty due to mixing various plants with differing needs. I've gotten tired of the constant maintenance of CO2 injection due to the high growth rate (especially vals, which grow about 12" week in my setup). I've also been disappointed by the look because I never planned the aquascape ahead of time.

Thanks SO MUCH for any help.
    Jason

2. jerrybforl

jerrybforl Lifetime Members
    Lifetime Member

Local Time: