This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Plants seem to be dying, need some advice

Discussion in 'General Plant Topics' started by htram, Sep 2, 2010.

1. htram

htram Junior Poster

Local Time:
    3:16 AM
    I'm new to all this and have recently setup an old 90 gallon tank with the following:

2x 54w 12000 & 2x 54w 6500 (Don't have the 6500's yet so I'm running the 2x 12000s for 4-5 hours a day)
    90 gallon (48x18x24) tank
    Play Sand Substrate
    Plants: HC, Dwarf Hair Grass + some random stuff I put in to fill it up
    Co2 = Milwaukee Regulator + your reactor (Don't have the co2 regulator yet, so running no co2)
    Filter = Aqua Clear 110 hang over filter
    Fertz = EI method

My question/problem is that I see most of my plants are dying right now (the hairgrass and hc look okay but most of the other plants look like they are withering, i think they are harder to grow perhaps?). I'm not sure if it's my substrate (play sand and nothing else) or the fact that I don't have my 2x 54w 6500s yet and I don't have co2 setup yet. I'm about >< this close to removing the play sand and putting in a Flourite or Eco Complete substrate. Wanted some advice before I spent the extra cash..

Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

2. dutchy

dutchy Plant Guru Team
    Lifetime Member

Local Time:
    Hi,