This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Unfortunately for Photobucket users, things have changed in a big way as of June 26th they are rolling out a $399 per year subscription fee for those who want to hotlink images from Photobucket’s servers to display elsewhere.
    This does not mean it only affects this site, It now means that billions of images across the Web now display an error message instead of the image in question. :(
    https://barrreport.com/threads/attention-photobucket-users.14377/
    Dismiss Notice

PH up help.

Discussion in 'General Plant Topics' started by fishtk75, Oct 24, 2006.

  1. fishtk75

    fishtk75 Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is there that makes ph go up the plants, substate?

    PH is at 7.7 now was 7.5 wednesday did water change went down to 7.0.
    Always goes up is it excel?
     
  2. VaughnH

    VaughnH Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,891
    Likes Received:
    21
    What is your substrate? And, do you have any rocks in the tank? You can leach minerals from some rocks and substrates that raise the KH, which also raises the pH.
     
  3. fishtk75

    fishtk75 Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Eco-complete and flourite substrates
    Rocks granite

    Before I changed gravel over to eco-complete and flourite subtrate it was 7.0 -7.1 in fish only tank with the same rocks.
     
  4. reiverix

    reiverix Lifetime Members
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    You've already checked to be sure it isn't offgassing of tap water?



    ----------------------------------
    For those that may not know...

    Water directly out of the tap will often have an artificially lower PH, caused by the internal water line pressure and Co2 gasses that may be present in the lines. You can often take water from the tap, measure the PH, let the water sit for a day, measure the PH, and record a noticeable difference since the Co2 gas has been given time to escape from the water. In this case, a water change with fresh tap water can cause a temporary PH drop that eventually rises back up to natural levels. If the PH changes occur over a short period, like 24 hours, and then stabilize, this could be the cause.
    ------------------------------------
     
  5. matpat

    matpat Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    It may be the Eco. I have read about it temporarily raising the KH and therefore the pH. It seems to be temporary and only lasts for a few water changes. I've never experienced it myself but I have only used Eco in one tank.

    Do you have any white pieces in your Eco Complete?
     
  6. Tom Barr

    Tom Barr Founder
    Staff Member Administrator Social Group Admin

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,471
    Likes Received:
    338
    Most new substratesd will not have a lowering effect on the tank water, as they age, they get sour and more organic matter builds up, the older gravel likely did this, whereas this new gravel, will take some time, the EC sometimes will raise it.
    Flourite will not impact pH at all, I've never heard anyone ever say anything about flourite doing anything to the pH/GH/KH.

    Regards,
    Tom Barr
     
  7. Tom Barr

    Tom Barr Founder
    Staff Member Administrator Social Group Admin

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,471
    Likes Received:
    338
    Increased plant growth due to a better substrate can place a higher demand on CO2, thus causing the pH to rise as well as you mentioned.......

    Regards,
    Tom Barr
     
  8. fishtk75

    fishtk75 Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    No I made sure I did get the reg. eco-complete not the Eco-Complete African Cichlid Gravel-20l(Carib Sea) that raises the ph.


    Tom Barr and all thank you for helping me now what KH should be at and how to keep that number?
    Also is there a way to the yeast mix to set it at a point so it not lower the ph so low?
     
  9. matpat

    matpat Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually, some of the Eco Complete for planted tanks had some calcium carbonate chunks in it a while ago...or at least what appeared to be calcium carbonate. If I remember correctly, all of their substrates for both freshwater and saltwater are made at the same place and their was some cross contamination....
     
  10. fishtk75

    fishtk75 Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is the Eco-Complete African Cichlid Gravel that has calcium carbonate in it that is on there web site.
     
  11. VaughnH

    VaughnH Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,891
    Likes Received:
    21
    Eco Complete is mined, not manufactured. So, it is possible and has happened before, for them to get batches that have calcium carbonate mixed in accidentally. At least that is how I remember the problem that happened with a big bad batch of Eco Complete several months ago.
     
  12. matpat

    matpat Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here is a thread that is a couple of years old about the Eco Complete. This thread was imported from Aquabotanic's Wet Thumb forum during the merger with APC. Unfortunately, the thread I linked to in my response (post #5) in no longer available on APC. That thread had pics of the white chunks folks had found in their Eco Complete.

    Again, it was not the African Cichlid mix that Carib Sea sells, it was in fact Eco Complete for Planted Tanks :)
     
  13. matpat

    matpat Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    I went through my old pics and found one photo from June of '04 that has a couple of visible white chunks in it

    [​IMG]

    You can see one small chunk directly under the leaf of the A. barteri 'nana' and another one to the far right up against the glass. This is what folks were finding in their Eco Complete back then and I imagine it could still be a problem today :)
     
  14. fishtk75

    fishtk75 Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks all When I opened the bags of eco-complete it was all black and had no white calcium carbonate in That I saw at all.

    I added sum of super naturals media my have calcium carbonate mixed in put they said no.


    CaribSea's Freshwater Substrates

    [​IMG]
     
  15. fishtk75

    fishtk75 Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    How did you get the pic to show up big from Image shack?
    My pic is small.
     
  16. fishtk75

    fishtk75 Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am still learning names if someone can tell me this.
    sodium bicarbonate- nahc03is is baking soda for KH.
    magneium sufate - mgso4 is epison salt
    but calcium carbonate - cac03 is with common name that you all use for DH?
     
  17. VaughnH

    VaughnH Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,891
    Likes Received:
    21
    Baking soda = sodium bicarbonate, bicarbonate of soda, NaHCO3
    Epsom Salt = MgSO4 (hydrated = with some water in the crystal structure)
    Crushed Coral = CaCO3, calcium carbonate
     
  18. fishtk75

    fishtk75 Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    what do you use as crushed coral it has many way it is sold at the store?
     
  19. VaughnH

    VaughnH Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,891
    Likes Received:
    21
    I don't use any calcium carbonate. I do have a container of Seachem Equilibrium in case I feel a need to increase the GH, but lately I have felt no such need. When I feel a need to increase KH I use baking soda, but, except for experiments, I haven't felt that need for quite awhile either.
     
  20. fishtk75

    fishtk75 Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    thank you that is what I needed to know the off the self brands.
     
Loading...

Share This Page