Octopus Needle Wheel question

stacir

Junior Poster
Apr 12, 2008
OK I tried following the vast amount of information in the needle wheel thread and sort of got lost. I undestand the basic concept, but am new to pressurized CO2. I was going to try and build Tom's reactor, but after reading the needle wheel thread, it seems this may be a simpler (for me) and easier way to go. I still don't quite understand the set ups and connections.

I looked at the Octopus needle wheel pump that Tom suggested, but i am not quite sure how it fits in with the whole CO2 system. Is it as simple as hooking up the CO2 hose to the needle wheel pump and then sticking the pump onto the inside of the aquarium or am I missing something? I will be using a SUMO regulator, on a 55 gallon with a 250 hot magnum and a 350 hot magnum canister filters.

Sorry, but I am very new to all of this and am a little afraid of melting holes in my impeller blades. And would prefer not to have to build a reactor if I don't have to, espeically if this is an easy and effective way to inject CO2 into my tank.

Any advice and setting met straight would be appreciated.

VaughnH

Lifetime Charter Member
Lifetime Member
Jan 24, 2005
Sacramento, CA
The goal with these little pumps is to introduce the bubbles of CO2 in the inlet tube of the pump, so the bubbles get chopped into tiny bubbles by the pump rotor. It helps if the CO2 tube is necked down to a small diameter at the pump inlet, so it releases the smallest bubbles possible. Usually you can look at the pump you will use and see a good way to hold the CO2 tube at that location.

stacir

Junior Poster
Apr 12, 2008
OK. So I can just attached the CO2 tubing to the pump inlet (using the right sized connectors) and then the co2 goes into the pump, gets chopped up, and then pumped out into the aquarium.