This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. Support us by upgrading to the lifetime advertisement free version.

Click here for more information.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Nutrient levels test kit

Discussion in 'Aquatic Plant Fertilization' started by Garrett Beck, Feb 4, 2017.

1. Garrett Beck

Garrett Beck Junior Poster

Local Time:
    6:56 AM
    Hello everyone,

I'm new to the Barr Report and this is my first post. I've been into the panted aquariums for a little less than a year and have jumped in with both feet. My question is; Are there any "master" test kits for panted aquariums (for nutrient levels)? If not, which individual test kits should I get or be most concerned with. I'm most interested in tests that tell me if I need to raise or lower my fertilizer dosing until I become more familiar with what specific plant deficiencies look like.

Thanks in advance for any help or suggestions,

Garrett

2. Garrett Beck

Local Time:
    I've been reading a lot of Tom's articles and see he doesn't put much stock into test kits (as a lot seem to be inaccurate). I already do the fairly large waterchange weekly so that part of the EI method I'm good with. So now I just have to figure out what to dose weekly (daily?) and how much to dose per tank without spending my whole paycheck on ferts. On to more research!

Garrett

3. Christophe

Christophe Subscriber
    Lifetime Member

Local Time:
  4. rajkm

rajkm Article Editor
    Staff Member Lifetime Member Article Editor

Local Time:
    If you are planning to follow EI dont worry about nutrient levels. At least at start.