This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Not new to aquatic plants but.....

Discussion in 'Are you new to aquatic plants? Start here' started by cuban007, Jan 24, 2015.

1. cuban007

cuban007 Junior Poster

Local Time:
    4:25 PM
    I am not new to aquatic plants but I have never used CO2. I would like to start using CO2 in my tanks. I have a 55gal, and a few that are 20g and 40g. Any tips on cost and installation??? Thanx.

2. krucianking

krucianking Junior Poster

Local Time:
    I am a newbie to this site but a good co2 setup sets you back about 250 bucks

3. gerryB

gerryB Junior Poster

Local Time:
    Yes, I agree with the $250 number as well. Your bigger expenses will be the initial cost of a cylinder (5lb maybe around $70-$80), and a decent dual stage regulator with a solenoid (ballpark $130+). You will also want a bubble counter (if not on regulator, not too much, and can DIY), a check valve, and CO2 resistant tubing. Of course, the gas isn't included in the cylinder - in my experience they run around $20 or so. You may be able to start off cheaper with 'paintball' type setups, but I wouldn't recommend this with your tank sizes. I use 5 lbs. cylinders myself.

4. cuban007

cuban007 Junior Poster

Local Time:
    Thanx for the info.

5. Melissa Morrison

Melissa Morrison New Member

Local Time: