This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Noobie. Need some help

Discussion in 'Are you new to aquatic plants? Start here' started by vincel892, Dec 29, 2015.

1. vincel892

vincel892 Junior Poster

Local Time:
    5:37 PM
    Hi everyone,

I'm pretty new to aquascaping and have just recently converted my dad's salt water tank to a freshwater setup. The tank is 7' x 2' x 2' (~200 gallons). I currently have aqua soil as the substrate and some dragon stone. I am hoping to grow a nice carpet of monte carlo with a few other midground and background plants. This project started a year ago...and I semi gave up due to me not knowing much about anything and just basically winging it. The tank was basically plagued with algae of all kinds and I stopped caring for a while. I recently just started up again with greater motivation to do it correctly this time around. The water is now clear again with some algae here and there. I was told by a local aquascape store owner that I had blue green algae and that I should treat with erythromycin. I went ahead and did as I was told...The algae seemed to have died away but I now have a layer of what seems to be like thick brown dust over my stone and some of my plants. They occasionally flake off, float around and get stuck on plants, other rocks, etc. I'm not sure whether this is the aftermath of the erythromycin treatment or something else. I am debating whether I should scrape it all off before I proceed. Any ideas?