This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Nitrate in a Walstad aquaria

Discussion in 'Non-CO2 Methods' started by affinis, Apr 13, 2014.

1. affinis

affinis Junior Poster

Local Time:
    10:58 PM
    Hi everyone, this is my first post on here, although I have been lurking in the background for some time.

I've been keeping Walstad style aquaria for many years, and have always been amazed by how successful and easy they can be. I have about a dozen tanks set up this way, from the most basic non-filtered or circulated, to ones with modest filtration and flow (maybe 3 x) These are all long term aquariums, being set up for between 4-15 years. Water changes are rare to none, with one 7 seven year old experimental aquarium only ever being topped up.

Over the years I have noticed that as you might expect, the aquariums with no filtration never seem to built any significant nitrate level. This goes for both circulated and uncirculated aquariums. However those with biological filters do tend to run relatively high (50ppm). At the same time the KH and pH drop slightly.

As the current thinking seems to be to increase the circulation and therefore biological filtration I'm looking to do some experiments.

My question is if I was to increase my biological filtration and turnover to maybe 6-8 x, would I also expect to get a further rise in nitrate and drop in pH and KH? or would the greater biological activity break down more organic matter creating more Co2 etc for the plants. Therefore giving increased plant growth and nitrate uptake, effectively canceling out?

Thanks for any thoughts.

2. fablau

fablau rotalabutterfly.com