This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. Dismiss Notice
  2. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Newbie on forum, need some advice with T5HO lighting

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by Hugefoot, Oct 2, 2012.

1. Hugefoot

Hugefoot Junior Poster

Local Time:
    4:52 AM
    Hi guys,
    This is my first post on this forum so I just wanted to say how amazed I am by the amount of information available and the overall positive atmosphere. I have 12 months experience with aquariums so I can safely say that I am a newbie.
    Now, to the issue at hand.
    I am planing an iwagumi setup in a 180 liter aquarium (47.5 gallons), with a length of 40" and a height of 16". I have a CO2 tank as well as liquid fertilizers.

With this in mind, here are the issues that I would need a little help with (most, if not all of which are lighting related):
    - I have seen several topics mentioning the PAR way of measuring effective lighting. I have tried to find the basic information covering this topic on the forum but I have yet to be successful. If you would be so kind as to point me into the right direction, I would really appreciate it; - FOUND IT
    - Most websites set interpretable criterion in regards to amount of lighting required by specific plants (low, medium, high, etc) - how does this translate into the PAR thing mentioned above? - FOUND IT
    - I can technically use 4*39 W T5HO 85 cm fluorescent lights. Would this be overkill, algae prone or would id be all right? - FOUND IT
    - last but not least, taking into account that i use liquid fertilization, how detrimental will the use of neutral quartz substrate be to my plant growing?