This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Newbie Dry Start Method

Discussion in 'Journals' started by CellarDoor, May 13, 2019.

1. CellarDoor

CellarDoor New Member

Local Time:
    1:22 AM
    Hi all! I'm totally new in the aquatic plant life and am totally in love. Now if only I can manage to not destroy my first plants.

Tank: UNS long 12G (35" long x 8" wide x 10" tall)
    Substrate: UNS contrasoil
    Light: Twinstar LED 600SP, 3500l, 44W

Desert Stones + UG (Ulticularia Graminifolia) plants

Planted dry start method 2 weeks ago Saturday, Saran Wrap top, opening 30 minutes a day, 12 hours lighting. (live in Chicago area)

All was growing in nicely, until I noticed mold in one of the corners of the tank last night. :eek::eek::eek:

I removed all visibly affected plants and substrate and removed the Saran Wrap, but this morning the mold was covering the edge of the substrate of the bit next to where I removed. So I took that substrate out, along with some more plants. Tried to clean that area of the tank, spraying a little h2o2/water 4:1 mixture in there..... but I'm fully aware that I've mold spores in my tank and am a little panicked that all of the UG is going to get wiped out before the end of this saga.

Check out my pics. Any and all advice, thoughts, and prayers appreciated.

healthy 2 weeks.JPG

moldy 2 weeks.JPG

newly planted.JPG

2. Tim Harrison

Tim Harrison Lifetime Member
    Lifetime Member

Local Time:
    7:22 AM