New to EI method

Lightt

Junior Poster
May 27, 2016
Hello,

I am new to the hobby (for about 5 months) and totally inexperienced with EI method.

Last week i made an iwagumi type aquarium with sizes 80 x 30 x 40. My lightning is 24w x 3 t5 daylight 6500,4000,6500k.

I planted aquarium since day 1 (cuba, ranunculus inundatus, pogostemon helferi, rotala rotundifolia, alternanthera reinecki) and everything in terms of growth seems pretty nice and fast.

My substrate is prodibio aquagrowth soil.

I started EI method since day 2 and yesterday i v noticed green dust/dot algae growth. I checked my water and i found 50 no3. So many for an aquarium with 7 days life and without fish and i really don't know how i got so high. Maybe those high numbers are the reason for this algae growth;

My real question is if i did right beginning EI method from day 2 or should i wait 20-25 days by doing only water changes. I am afraid the active soil is so new and needs frequent w/c before i start fertilizers.

Thank you in advane

Pikez

Rotala Killer!
May 12, 2013
Close (but not too close) to LA
Hi Lightt - welcome! New clay soils have enough nutrients that you don't need much fertilizer for the first few weeks or months. Then you can begin adding potassium, iron, and trace elements. For now, just focus on water changes and optimizing CO2.

EI at the very beginning is a waste and adds instability. Let the talk mature for a month or so before you add nitrates.

It is normal to have several different types of algae in the beginning. This will go away if you keep cleaning, do water changes, and optimize CO2.

Don't fall in love with high light. Classic beginner mistake.

Lightt

Junior Poster
May 27, 2016
Thank you Pikez!

The lfs told me the same. That i should wait for about 1 month by doing 2 w/c per week.

As for the lights, you are right.. Especially a beginner can easily gets into this trap. And i am new to the hobby.

Should i close the 1 bulb;