This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. Dismiss Notice
  2. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

New Tank Need Help

Discussion in 'Are you new to aquatic plants? Start here' started by jamesm029, Jan 23, 2009.

1. jamesm029

jamesm029 Junior Poster

Local Time:
    6:12 PM
    I am new to the forums and would like to say I find this site very informative, professional and well run.

I need some help I have had aquariums for many years but this is my first attempt at a planted tank. I need to get some advice before things get out of hand and would like to get off to a good start and be successfull.
    I am only trying to grow some plants and have not tried to do any aquascaping.
    All I did was add a piece of wood a rock and wanted to start small.

Here is what I have for equipment and what I have done so far:

33 gallon (36x 12x 18) posted a photo of the tank not real clear
    36" light fixture with two 39 watt T-5 HO(so about 2.4 watts per gallon)
    Eheim 2028 filter with the flow set to slow and intake is in the left corner the spray bar is on the back wall flowing towrds the front under the surface, not much surface movement.
    Hagen yeast CO2 attached to the air intake of a small powerhead this spits out Tiny bubbles that then get sent for a ride by the spraybar. Producing well at the moment.
    PH is 7.2 and temperature is 75 degrees
    Flourite Red about 90% mixed with very little sand about 1 inch at the front closer to two at the back.
    Tank has been set up for a week or so! i have been adding Excel daily small doses and Florish Comprehensive 2x per week

I have about 12 small Harlequin Rasboras, One Dwarf Gourami, 2 Otos.