This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. Dismiss Notice
  2. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

New and seeking advice.

Discussion in 'Are you new to aquatic plants? Start here' started by kyrton, Aug 22, 2008.

1. kyrton

kyrton Junior Poster

Local Time:
    3:27 PM
    what i have-
    55g tank that is well populated with fish.
    Moderately planted as i am just getting into the plants
    2- 55w 6700k lights (the AHS kits) so just above 2w/g
    Light schedule on for 8 hours
    Fluval canister rated for 70g tank running at 100% flow rate
    Smaller HOB filter rated for 50g to increase flow and CO2
    Flourite substrate
    No CO2 injection (i might give the diy method a second try)

Current Dosing routine-
    Excel 5ml / day
    Seacham Nitrogen- 2ml twice a week
    Seacham Potassium- 10ml 3x week
    Seacham Flourish (micro, trace and other nutrients) 5ml twice week.
    API Leaf Zone 30ml twice a week.
    50% water change per week.

I had fish pre-plants and have algae. Never got rid of it all and now it grows on everything. When i scrub off glass makes what appears to be white cloud. Algae on plants is brownish and hairy looking. Green algae on glass, drift wood is hairy too, both about 1-2ml in length.

I want to make sure my fert dosing is ok first of all. Second how to get rid of the algae growth. Third is my tank under planted?

Here is pic of overall tank
    100_0911.jpg

Next are my Algae.. its nasty, view discretion advised !

100_0913.jpg
    100_0914.jpg
    100_0915.jpg

There are more pics of my tank if you want to look at some other close ups and my fish.

http://s203.photobucket.com/albums/aa30/kyrton/Fish/55g/

2. guy tillmans