This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

    https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Need Roi Mineral Help

Discussion in 'Are you new to aquatic plants? Start here' started by BettaBrooke, Sep 13, 2018.

  1. BettaBrooke

    BettaBrooke New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    11:16 PM
    Hello!

    I'm new to this forum, but I wanted to clear a few concerns of mine up before I begin cycling my tank. I have been researching how to add minerals back to ROI water properly, what products to use, and how much to use, but it never seems like I can get a straight answer, so hopefully some of you will be able to help.

    I currently go to college, but my hometown uses well water, which I've read can have a negative impact on your fish. I used to own a crowntail betta, but could never get my water parameters under control and in a suitable range, so he unfortunately passed away. I tried Indian Almond Leaves, CaribSea, live plants, and aeration, but nothing ever helped. Due to this, I decided to invest in a ROI system to use for when I decide to purchase another betta. After researching online, I read that the use of Seachem Equilibrium, Seachem Acid Buffer, and Seachem Alkaline Buffer together will restore all of the minerals needed in your water after using a ROI system. I also purchased Nutritrace CSM + B because I read that those micro elements are needed for a planted aquarium.

    I know many suggest just adding tap water to the ROI water to restore the minerals needed, but I do not feel comfortable doing this because of what happened with my past betta and the well water. My hometown's well water was extremely hard, too alkaline, and contained heavy metals that never seemed to go away despite my use of water conditioner. I also know many aquarists say, "Your fish will adjust to the levels of your water naturally," but I'm the kind of fish owner who likes to give my fish what they would prefer in their natural environments. I'm aware I need more supplies for a healthy planted aquarium, like a CO2 system; I just haven't gotten around to purchasing it yet, and I want to cycle my tank first before worrying about that.

    I guess my questions are: Has anyone had success with using these Seachem products together in ROI water? Do they keep the water levels stable enough until a weekly water change? Is there another substance I should be adding? How much of these substances should I be adding if I plan to use a 10 gallon aquarium? What levels should I keep my tank when housing a betta? I already know you ideally want 78 degrees F, pH = 7, ammonia = 0 ppm, nitrites = 0 ppm, and nitrates <20 ppm, but what about things like GH, KH, K, Ca, and other trace elements? I can't seem to find any concrete answers on those things.

    Any help and advice would be appreciated!
     
  2. Phishless

    Phishless Lifetime Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2017
    Messages:
    853
    Likes Received:
    806
    Local Time:
    12:16 AM
    I use GH Booster from NilocG.com
    Colin also sells EI fert package thay contains CSM+B
    For KH I use baking soda to reach 1 KH.

    Look up ideal water parameters for a betta and you could match exactly.

    I am mostly "Phishless"
     
  3. rajkm

    rajkm Article Editor
    Staff Member Lifetime Member Article Editor

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    189
    Local Time:
    5:16 AM
    I use used GLA GH Booster, Seachem Equilibrium and Secheam replenish.
    I have settled on using Equilibrium just because it doesn’t clump like GH Booster and is not watered down replenish.

    Usually all of them add Calcium and Magnesium. Some add sodium for general use conditioner, others have potassium, Manganese and iron

    Just follow the directions for target GH levels.

    For KH I use Seachem Acid buffer.
     
  4. Jim Harger

    Jim Harger New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    11:16 PM
    Don't you. mean you use Seachem Alkaline Buffer for KH? Acid buffer consumes KH and turns it in to CO2
     
  5. Greggz

    Greggz Lifetime Members
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    504
    Local Time:
    5:16 AM
    I use MgSO4 and CaSO4 for GH. It's cheaper than buying a GH booster, and you can control the ratio. And they don't turn into a brick like when they are mixed together in a booster.

    For KH I use K2CO3, but baking soda works too.
     
  6. Jim Harger

    Jim Harger New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    11:16 PM
    What's your source for K2CO3?
     
  7. Greggz

    Greggz Lifetime Members
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    504
    Local Time:
    5:16 AM
  8. Jim Harger

    Jim Harger New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    11:16 PM
  9. Greggz

    Greggz Lifetime Members
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    504
    Local Time:
    5:16 AM
    Not really.

    It's a mix of KHCO3 and sodium, potassium, magnesium, and other bicarbonates. No way to tell how much KHCO3 you actually get and how much you need to dose of that mix to raise KH.

    And using KHCO3 requires about 50% more dosing by weight to achieve the same KH rise as K2CO3. But tough to compare, because no one knows how much KHCO3 you are getting with the Seachem product. But my guess is you are dumping in loads more to reach the same KH, and it's probably the most expensive way to do it.

    Personally I would dose pure K2CO3 or KHCO3, so you know what you are adding to the tank. Much cheaper too.

    And with a 10G tank, you only need 2.79 grams of K2CO3 to raise dKH by 3. So that 1kg container is about 7 years of dosing.
     
  10. Jim Harger

    Jim Harger New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    11:16 PM
    Seachem doesn't list what's in there alkaline buffer. You're saying the mix varies? Is that a guess or do you have some inside information? I'm adding 2 teaspoons (14g) to 50gal for a 4dKH rise.
     
  11. Greggz

    Greggz Lifetime Members
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    504
    Local Time:
    5:16 AM
    No inside information. Like you, no ones knows the ratios. The other ingredients are ones they had listed at one time. So it's a mix of of something, just not sure what.

    And not saying it doesn't work fine, you just don't know what else you are adding to the tank.

    Interesting if you calculate for a raise of 4 dKH, Zorfox says to add 27 grams of KHCO3? But who knows, and it's not that important, as long as what you are doing is working for you.

    Anyway, I have nothing against Seachem. Lots of ways to raise KH, and each to his own. It's all good.
     
  12. rajkm

    rajkm Article Editor
    Staff Member Lifetime Member Article Editor

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    189
    Local Time:
    5:16 AM
    Yes, Alkaline buffer.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice