Need Help with limited availability of supplies

hassan.nabeel

Junior Poster
May 15, 2017
Hello to all experienced members of this forum. A little background about my experience and situation. I am fairly new to aquatic tanks. I have a non-planted 90 gallon (48x24x18 inches) tank since 2 years. I am new to this site but I have been silent reader of plantedtank.net since last 2 years.

Planted tanks are very uncommon in my country, Pakistan. The only aquatic plants I can buy are Amazon swords and Anubias nana. Very occasionally we get some carpet plants from Thailand. Chemical of N, P, K are not available or sold separately due to risk of being used in explosives. My only option is to either use dirted tank OR use growmore water soluble fertilization (http://www.growmore.com/products/type/water-soluble-fertilizer.html). I am using 20 20 20 solution as thats the only product available here

These beautiful lush green planted tanks were becoming an obsession for me. So just to experiment what I can manage in this limited availability of things, I finally ordered some items from AliExpress. I am not too optimistic that things will turn out good but I need help like Tips and suggestions to make this into something.

I received following items about 2 months ago.

1 - Aquatic plant seeds (some sort of grass seeds and probably glosso).

2 - Chichiros 45cm light

3 - DIY CO2 setup

Lighting on below setup is a 13 watt Philips 6500K LED bulb. Chichiros will be used on 10 Gallon setup coming below.

Day 0:

I setup a small 2-3 gallon bowl to test these seeds about 1 month ago. Here are its results. I am still not sure if these plants are aquatic or not. Some unknown sand at the base, then a layer of organic potting soil (some brand imported from UK) then some more sand.

Dry Start Stage:

Misting water two times a day. Progress after 4 days.

Submerged at 7-8 days: