This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

    https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Need help please

Discussion in 'CO2 Enrichment' started by barbarossa4122, Jan 8, 2011.

  1. barbarossa4122

    barbarossa4122 Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    5:22 AM
    Hi,

    I started my co2 an hr ago and this is what is going on;
    In the beggining it worked fine with about 1 bubble/second but, now I am only getting like 1b/3.4 seconds no matter how I try to adjust the Fabco nv 55 valve. The atomic diffuser is working fine. My working pressure on the Victor235b is about 27psi. Can anyone please explain to me how to get more bubbles/second ? And, why is the diffuser is working the same with 1b/s or 1b/4s ?
     
    #1 barbarossa4122, Jan 8, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 8, 2011
  2. Gerryd

    Gerryd Plant Guru Team
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5,623
    Likes Received:
    18
    Local Time:
    5:22 AM
    Hi,

    Visually check the bubble rate coming out of the needle valve, both before and after any check valve to ensure that the gas is controlled by the valve. Do this first to ensure the mechanical operation and to rule out any issues.

    I don't know about atomizers and how they work, it is possible that they can only accept a max bubble rate or something? Just speculation.

    Sure you don't have a leak somewhere from playing with it? Loose connection?

    Hope this helps.
     
  3. barbarossa4122

    barbarossa4122 Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    5:22 AM
    Hey Gerryd,

    It works much much better now. I guess it needed it a little time to settle. I getting 1b/s now which is enough for my 10g tank. GLA 45mm atomic diffuser works just fine........lots of mist spreading all over the tank. I guess a more powerful regulator would have been better for this diffusers. I am waiting for the drop checker to change color while I am working on the 2 tanks set up but, for this I am using a Victor 453b(monster). One more Q please : for the 10g I am using a Victor 253b but, I also have a Concoa 212. Do you think the Concoa will be better(more pressure) ?

    Oh, I did the soapy water test............no leaks.
     
    #3 barbarossa4122, Jan 8, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 8, 2011
  4. barbarossa4122

    barbarossa4122 Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    5:22 AM
    Hey,

    The diffuser is close to my canister filter intake, about 1" close. Does this matter ?
     
  5. barbarossa4122

    barbarossa4122 Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    5:22 AM
    Now, I am having a problem with my second set up. This is for two tanks using a Victor 453b. I got everything working, set up the pressure at 15psi and everything worked out just fine. Then , I decided to bump up the pressure to 38 psi and boom...........the co2 started to come out via the relief pressure valve on the regulator. I shut off the co2 tank and now every time I attempt to open the tank, all the co2/pressure comes out through the relief valve. I know I can not touch that valve b/c it is written "not to alter " on it. What do I do now ?
     
    #5 barbarossa4122, Jan 8, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 8, 2011
  6. Matt F.

    Matt F. Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,319
    Likes Received:
    3
    Local Time:
    5:22 AM
    reagrding the relief valve, contact a victor tech at thermadyne.com. Describe to them what is happening. They are very helpful. If the relief valve is letting pressure escape, something is wrong with the regulator. You may need a rebuild. Luckily there is a great link for a professional rebuild shop...it's cheap, too.

    Check to make sure the fabco's handle is on tight...severalideal valves have come with loose handles and it throws adjustment way off.
     
  7. barbarossa4122

    barbarossa4122 Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    5:22 AM
    Thanks Matt.

    I did and they work fine now. I did replace the Victor with a Concoa 212 and everything is fine now. The Concoa goes to 23psi only, even with the knob turned clockwise all the way.
     
  8. Matt F.

    Matt F. Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,319
    Likes Received:
    3
    Local Time:
    5:22 AM
    sometimes, the gauge backing prevents the needle from travelling through the whole psi range, especially if it's bent. be careful not to exceed 125 psi.
    I've seen this on new regulators and used.
     
  9. barbarossa4122

    barbarossa4122 Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    5:22 AM
    But, if the gauge doesn't show the correct pressure how do I know not to exceed 125psi ?
    And, can this Concoa go that high ?
     
  10. barbarossa4122

    barbarossa4122 Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    5:22 AM
    Hi there,

    Is there a relationship between the co2 bubbles and the regulator working pressure ? I guess, what I am trying to find out is.............if the regulator doesn't provide/have enough pressure can you still lower or raise the number of co2 bubbles coming out.

    The reason I am asking this is that no matter how much I play with the Fabco valve I can't get more than 3-4 bubbles in 10 seconds. I have 3 new NV55s and switched them aronud but, got the same results. It looks like the NVs are good.
     
    #10 barbarossa4122, Jan 9, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 9, 2011
  11. Matt F.

    Matt F. Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,319
    Likes Received:
    3
    Local Time:
    5:22 AM
    What does your working pressure gauge say? how high does it go in psi?

    The needle valva should control bubble rate with precision once working pressure is set.
     
  12. barbarossa4122

    barbarossa4122 Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    5:22 AM
    It shows 27psi with the knob all the way in clock wise.
     
  13. barbarossa4122

    barbarossa4122 Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    5:22 AM
    I switched the NVs around between the 3 tanks I have, and only the tank run by the Victor 253 gives me this problem. I am not sure but, to me it means that the NVs are working good. On the two tanks set up which are run by a Concoa 212 I can adjust the bubble rate as I please with a max working pressure of 23psi.
     
    #13 barbarossa4122, Jan 9, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 9, 2011
  14. barbarossa4122

    barbarossa4122 Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    5:22 AM
    I forgot to mention that I am using GLA's new in tank atomic diffusers (45mm, 55mm and 60mm)
     
  15. barbarossa4122

    barbarossa4122 Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    5:22 AM
    The Victor is OK. The problem was and is the solenoid.
     
  16. Matt F.

    Matt F. Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,319
    Likes Received:
    3
    Local Time:
    5:22 AM
    if you think something is wrong, send it back and have them do tests. they will provide a report and either a replacement or a fix...that is if something really is wrong. remember, I sent mine back b/c I thought it was broken...turns out it was my fault.
     
  17. barbarossa4122

    barbarossa4122 Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    5:22 AM
    Hi,

    What is a good in line diffusing system( not the ones you hook up with canister tubbing) one can use besides these new atomic diffusers ? Thank you.
     
    #17 barbarossa4122, Jan 11, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 11, 2011
Loading...

Share This Page