This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

    https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

my plan stem is too long

Discussion in 'Are you new to aquatic plants? Start here' started by woodyship, Oct 2, 2009.

  1. woodyship

    woodyship Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    3:58 PM
    I need help.
    I have a 135G tank. with 500watt lighting.
    but my plant stem is too long ( the space between nodes is too big.)
    can any one help me in this, what is the problem.
     
  2. Gerryd

    Gerryd Plant Guru Team
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5,624
    Likes Received:
    20
    Local Time:
    3:58 PM
    Hi Woodyship,

    Could you please provide some more details on your tank? Are you dosing macro/micro fertilizers and/or c02? Fixture/bulb type (MH, T5, CF, ??), filtration setup, powerheads, etc. Substrate type? Inert (gravel, flourite, etc) or fill of ferts like ADA? If injecting c02, how do you do it and how do you measure the c02 content in the water? Do you use a drop checker at all?

    One to many/all of these factors may play a part.

    500 wpg is WAY OVERKILL for your size tank IME/IMO. Light is what drives plant growth and thus nutrient and c02 demand. The higher the light, the higher the demand.

    If the demands of some nutrient is limited (Leibigs law) plant growth will suffer.

    The more info we have, the better an answer can be returned :)

    In my head, I am thinking c02, but we will see based on more data/info.

    Hope this helps.
     
  3. woodyship

    woodyship Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    3:58 PM
    Thank you very much for your Help
    I search alot in the internet to find the reson for that. but i did not.
    I will try to tell you more about my Aquarium:
    I dose a micro and macro (Poor Man Fertilizer) also i have a PH controler which open and close the bubbles of the CO2 pottel. My PH is set to be 6.9 PH.
    Also my light is 8 X 36W 6800 K and 8X24w aquamidic light all are T5,
    I use 2 condinser fillteration system.
    and a small wave maker.
    i used also a mud based and some gravel, and a small amount of flourite.
    and some ADA.
    i did not use a drop checker

    Can you help me please


     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice