This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

My first planted tank...taking it to the next level (hopefully)

Discussion in 'Are you new to aquatic plants? Start here' started by Nubster, Dec 14, 2011.

1. Nubster

Nubster Junior Poster

Local Time:
    2:45 PM
    I am pretty new to planted tanks. My current main tank being my first. It has been up a couple months now I guess...maybe 3. So far it's been fun and has been working out ok. I started low tech with no CO2, ferts, and T8 lighting. Then I made the jump to high-tech with T5HO 54w x 2 lighting, pressurized CO2, and PPS Pro ferts. I had one issue with gassing my shrimp and almost killing my fish but that was caught in time. I was using the fish as a guide for the amount of CO2 I was injecting and I took it up just a bit too high and found out the hard way that shrimp are a lot less tolerant to high CO2 levels. Growth exploded as expected and for the most part algae has been manageable...until now. I had a lot of staghorn growing which was easily taken care of by reducing Fe and increasing circulation. Not sure if one or both changes did the trick, but it worked. It also decreased the hair algae but hasn't eliminated it. I just take care of that now with a tooth brush and manual removal. The issue now is GSA. After the gassing incident I reduced the amount of CO2 drastically. Maybe too much. My drop checker is green, but a dark green. Plants no longer pearl and it seems the growth has slowed. I did turn it up just a touch today and everything started pearling like crazy and the drop checker changed from a dark green to a light green so I am leaving it there. I have a few shrimp in the tank