My First High Tech Aquascape

thelordofthefish

Subscriber
Apr 22, 2017
I've posted this in the planted tank forums as well. I hope that's alright. This is my first try at this high tech planted tank thing. I call it "The edge of the forrest". My plan is to go super thick planted on the left side of the pathway, tall stems behind the big wood. Something red to in the back-middle top to balance the composition which is a bit right side heavy. The right side will be a bit more light in terms of stems and will focus on grasses and smaller plants. Lots of tiny variants of anubias in the cracks and foreground. Maybe something red on the very top of the left wood. Basically the right side of the tank is the green lush meadow and the left is the entrance to the dark, giant forrest.

Anyway, any feedback welcome. I had to design the tank in a way where it is pleasing to the eye from the right side as well as that side faces the dining table. That's been a challenge and I'm a bit unhappy how it looks from the side.

Material is ADA Aquasoil Amazonia and some powder type on top. Below, ADA power sand, Bacter 100, Clear Super and Tourmaline BC. Ton of wood, I've got a lot more smaller pieces foe detail. Rocks are mainly Sansui stone and some lava stone under the soil to get the slope.

Should I worry about the left side behind the big wood? I plan to heavily plant it so I went easy on the hardscape.

Thanks for reading!

Frontal:

IMG_1010%202_zpszkiova5h.jpg

Frontal top down:

top%20down_zpsnezdqqs9.jpg

right side:
IMG_1012%202_zpsism77glx.jpg

burr740

Micros Spiller
Feb 16, 2015
Looks nice and your plan sounds good. Lots of great potential here.

But you're gonna need a stone or a log on the right side where the sand meets aquasoil. That'll soon be mixed all together unless you do something right there

thelordofthefish

Subscriber
Apr 22, 2017
Good point! I'll do that tonight.

For plants, I was thinking on the left back side:
Hemianthus micranthemoides