My Fatal Rescape

The Rockster

Guru Class Expert
Aug 10, 2007
South Florida
Hi Everyone,

I am new to planted tanks, but have had fish only tanks for about 30 years.
The only time I have tried to rescape my planted tank, I had a unexpected, fatal problem that freaked me out! ( I have not done any since.)
I replanted about 4 plants and did a 50 percent water change (using Prime).
Then sat back and watched my celebes rainbows (Marosatheriina ladigesi) have, what looked like, heart attacks and die.( It reminded me of the aerial dogfights of WW2.) I added some nitrate remover and O2 that kept the loss to just a few fish. However other rainbows died shortly after.
So, the next time I went to the locaL LFS (Big Al's), they told me my problem was due to a release of anaerobic gases (nitrates), which was from disturbing the substrate. I was advised to do a 100% water change after rescaping. This is not an option for me.........I am using a 30 gallon water change drum for a 60 gallon net fishtank. What is the correct method for rescaping? I have read to do one-third at a time.........I only did 4 plants!

Also, due to algae problems, I have less plants. I would like to vac my soil substrate (esp the open areas), however using a convential grav cleaner does not seem to work out............even my Eheim Sludge Cleaner does not seem to be the answer either!( Python not an option, won't attach to my Kohl's faucets)

thankxs,

shane

Lifetime Charter Member
Lifetime Member
Nov 29, 2006
Are you sure the water change wasn't the problem? Maybe some contaminated water?

crystalview

Guru Class Expert
Sep 6, 2008
between Sac and Reno