This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. Dismiss Notice
  2. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

MTS in Riparium Planters

Discussion in 'General Plant Topics' started by hydrophyte, Oct 25, 2009.

1. hydrophyte

hydrophyte Prolific Poster

Local Time:
    4:54 PM
    I appreciate that there is some controversy on the use of mineralized topsoil (MTS) as an aquarium substrate, but I would like to relate experiences on using this material as a nutrient enhancement for emersed plants in riparium planters. I have been using MTS in a casual way for a couple of months and my un-scientific observations suggest that it does improve plant nutrition and that it might serve as a long-term, slow-release nutrient source inside of the planter cup. In this first post I describe the general planting method that I use when including MTS in the planter.

The following picture shows the material that I used.

[​IMG]

I acquired a box of this in trade with a member of another forum.

Proceeding through the steps of planting that I followed, the next photograph shows the planter cup with the basic substrates. On the bottom of the cup is a layer of Hydroton clay pebbles. These are topped with planter gravel filled to about 1/3 of the depth of the cup. Lastly, a shallow layer of mineralized topsoil was added on top of the planter gravel. I included 1 1/2 tablespoons of MTS.

[​IMG]

If you look closely you can see that the MTS layer is below the level of the suction cup keyholes in the back of the planter cup. Since it will be covered with another layer of gravel this placement will help to prevent it from washing out through the keyholes.