This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

    https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

mixing new & old substrate

Discussion in 'Sediment / Substrate' started by charlie, Nov 11, 2011.

  1. charlie

    charlie Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    10:15 AM
    Hello, i`m about to start a new tank, i have a 20 gallon with established substrate ( 9 months old) that i want to use on my new build, is there an issue whether i put the old in first or on top of the new , i prefer not to wash the old substrate.
    Thanks in advance
     
  2. jerrybforl

    jerrybforl Lifetime Members
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    2
    Local Time:
    10:15 AM
    I'd leave the old on the bottom and put the new on top.
     
  3. mathman

    mathman Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    1
    Local Time:
    10:15 AM
    From experience, I once placed new gravel on top of the old one triggering a mini cycle. I could be wrong?
     
  4. Crispino Ramos

    Crispino Ramos Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    4
    Local Time:
    10:15 AM
    I would add 1/4 or less of new substrate on top of the old. Monitor the ammonia and nitrate level each week. If favorable, repeat the process until you have achieved the amount of new substrate needed.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice