Metal Halide distance from water?

M

mrkookm

I am trying to create a not so 'high light' setup for my plants as I am somewhat new at this and thought I was doing the right thing with my current lighting choice. but as I read the forums more I am soon realizing that I might have a little too much.

I have 2 x 175watt, XM 10k MH with Lumenarc III Mini reflectors over my 90g (48lx18wx24h) and currently have it mounted so that from the bottom of the bulb to the surface of the water it is 19", Is this distance ok for what I'm trying to accomplish?

To give an idea of how some of my plants are reacting to my 'current intensity' ; my HM in the foreground still pearls alot, Rotala Round is growing sideways, Pogostemon stellatus 'Broad Leaf' (6" tall from substrate) pearls continueously very tiny bubbles from a damaged leaf, Pogostemon yatabeanus (5-6") gives a bubble every 7-8 seconds and my Ludwigia's sp. 'Cuba' ( 7" tall) is growing new leaves that are pinkish redish.

I do want good growth but 'not too slow' . CO2 via misting is at 30ppm per my DC and I'm also following diligently for 3weeks now this routine (tank3) _Dosing Regime's_ - The Planted Tank Forum

Any info will be appreciated...........

VaughnH

Lifetime Charter Member
Lifetime Member
Jan 24, 2005
Sacramento, CA