This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Low Tech Planted Tank - Advice needed

Discussion in 'Are you new to aquatic plants? Start here' started by Venomous-V, Jul 3, 2017.

1. Venomous-V

Venomous-V New Member

Local Time:
    1:45 PM
    Hi Guys,

New to the forum. Need some advice regarding my tank. My aim, is to have this tank run with as little intervention as possible. I would like some tips on fertilisation. I have read about methods with minimal fertilisation and no water changes. Only top ups. I have been keeping fish for a good 20 years now, and I am struggling to wrap my head around no water changes thing. My main question is: Is this doable with my setup ? What is the preferred method ? How can I calculate my ferts ? Is my lighting to high for this method ?Really, no water changes ? Are you serious, no water changes ? WTF ? No water changes ?

Tank: 1000mm X 500mm X 500mm
    Filter: Fluval 406
    Flow: SEIO PROP 520
    Light: ZET LANCIA LED 34 W 84cm http://www.zetlight.com/productshow.php?id=341&sort_id=35
    Substrate: SEACHEM FLUORITE
    FLORA: Various crypts - Mostly Wendetti. Java Fern, Christmas Moss, Alternathera Reineckii.
    Fauna: Sterna Corries X 6, Otto's X 6, Dwarf Rasboras X 30 - 40, 5 Cherry Shrimp, 5 Assassin Snails.

My inspiration for this tank came from this blog post low-tech-planted-tank-guide which referred me to this web site.

This is where I am at currently. Tanks been running for about 2 months now with a liquid carbon source and Complete liquid Fert with 50% weekly water changes.

[​IMG]

I took this pic about 2 weeks ago, and looking at it now, it's thickened out allot.

Mooner likes this.