This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Lag using AM1000

Discussion in 'CO2 Enrichment' started by nazrm, Mar 30, 2011.

  1. nazrm

    nazrm Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using a AM1000 and a AM PH2000 pump to drive it. Feeding bleed valve into intake on pump.

    It takes 4,5 hours for the PH to drop from 6,7 to 6.1. The first 2 hours the lights are not on, and when they lights do go on the plant leaves curl up (especially H. Polysperma and Nesaea crassicaulis) until the level of CO2 has increased hours later.. (And for what it's worth, my 4DKH DC is bright yellow when the PH has been around 6 for a few hours.)

    250L aquarium, 4x 24w T5, dosing EI. I do not have alot of surface agitation. I have good flow throughout the tank. (filter outflow + PH2000 directed from back left to middle glass, one small powerhead top left front to add some ripples)

    I've done some modifications to the PH2000 impeller to try to make the CO2 bubbles break into smaller pieces, with no significant change after doing so. (seperated a few impeller blades as Tom Barr showed in a needle wheel thread.) The pump makes alot of noise due to the bleed valve into intake, and increasing CO2 even more reduces flow due to all the bubbles in there. There is a decent amount of mist in the tank, but I'd like more.

    The CO2 setup is a JBL ProFlora one, really shit, and the needle valve regulator is extremely unstable. I'm upgrading to a 5kg tank with proper Victor reg and setup soon.

    Any tips on how to reduce the lag? (pref something that doesn't involve buying new gear :x)
     
    #1 nazrm, Mar 30, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 30, 2011
  2. Tom Barr

    Tom Barr Founder
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,517
    Likes Received:
    404
    More flow through the reactor, larger ports in/out.
    AM1000's are okay for about 150 gal or smaller, but.........
    A larger pump is not really going to increase flow since the connector pipe is only about 3/8" or 9-10mm.

    The needle wheel will not do anything for it if the constriction is the AM1000.........so........DIY a larger Reactor with larger flow through ports........say 16mm etc. Then more flow.
    Or place the needle wheel directly into the aquarium.
     
  3. nazrm

    nazrm Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    I only have 50 gallon or less of water, so as you say, it should be decent enough. Might try to remove some of the balls inside, although I'm not sure if I'll be able to seal the reactor up again. I'll try needle wheel into aquarium first. Tested earlier today with it and there's craaaazy misting going on, not sure if it'll be enough though! Better responsiveness in terms of CO2 and everything would be fine. Well, for now anyway.

    This forum has been a great help, been reading old posts a bit too much lately. Brain overload.
     
  4. Tom Barr

    Tom Barr Founder
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,517
    Likes Received:
    404
    Something is not right in your set up, clean the filter and any parts that might feed into the reactor, 300 gallons per hour or liter = should be plenty.

    Also, recalibrate the pH probe and double check that.
    Clean filter etc.
     
  5. scottward

    scottward Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    8
    I had *exactly* the same thing happening to me a couple of years ago, particularly with H.Polysperma. Tom helped me out with it at the time.

    Yep - AM1000 should be absolutely fine for your sized tank, my tank is twice your size, I am using a single AM1000 (+ OR-2500), and I sorted the problem out (at least in Winter when the water is cooler anyway).

    Intake/outlet on AM1000 are 1/2".

    I think CO2 stability is the problem - the CO2 level is fluctuating too much - the H. Polysperma can't "tune in" to a stable level.

    Put the intake for your PH2000 down one end of the tank, feed into the AM1000, return to tank at the opposite end from the PH2000. Close off the bleed valve. Feed CO2 into the AM1000. An inch or two build up (gap) at the top of the reactor toward the later part of the CO2 on period should be fine.

    Perhaps turn off half the lights Tom? I think a 50G could run on just 2 of those T5's to get started??

    Scott.
     
  6. nazrm

    nazrm Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think you may have a point about the fluctuating CO2. And I may have answered my own question in the first post! The needle valve on this thing is just horrendous. I noticed now it varies between less than 1bps and well, uncountable bps. Before I went to bed last night I did what you just posted Scott (I'm a mind-reading time traveller) - PH two hours after CO2 went on: 6.1. That's decent. I have about 7cm of buildup in the reactor, though..

    I'm thinking this might not be an issue once I get a proper regulator and needle valve setup.
     
Loading...

Share This Page