This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Just starting out! 15G Marine planted tank

Discussion in 'Are you new to aquatic plants? Start here' started by Alunai, Apr 3, 2011.

1. Alunai

Alunai Junior Poster

Local Time:
    8:13 AM
    Hello!
    My name is Ashley. I am a 20 year old Kennel Attendant at a humane society. I am a huge animal person- fish are no exception. I have been dabbling in the saltwater hobby for a little over two years now. I recently lost my motivation, but have found my interests peaked again in new- greener side of the hobby. Planted tanks!!

I have decided to try my hand at a Marine planted aquarium. This is where I'm going to need help. I know most planted tanks are freshwater. As much as I want a nice school of neon tetras, I just can't imagine parting with my beloved salties.

Here's a bit of starting info.

15 gallon tank.
    Non CO2
    Two 2-bulb T5HO's. 1 Actinic and 1 daylight in each.
    I have 2 Koralia 750's and 3 Koralia nano's. I'll likely use the nanos.
    HOB filter rated for 75 gallons.

I have tons of live sand I can sift through to get nice teeny tiny grain size for roots to grow through. Other than that, I have no idea where to start. I would like to use/make a good substrate so that the plants have a bit to feed off of, since I'll have relatively low light and no CO2.