This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

    https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Java fern on driftwood

Discussion in 'General Plant Topics' started by tedr108, Feb 26, 2008.

  1. tedr108

    tedr108 Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    12:35 PM
    Before I waste a bunch of time...

    Is there some trick for attaching a Java Fern to driftwood? Do the roots actually dig into the wood or do they grow around it to hold on?

    Thanks for any tips you can give.
     
  2. creighton

    creighton Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    12:35 PM
    I've always use cotton string to wrap in between the leaves around the rhizome. I've seen where people use zip ties to cut the time it take to attach it down, but I've never tried it. The roots kinda hold on similar to how moss holds onto wood. I don't think they really dig into the wood, but they will definitely grow into the crack and hold on tight.
     
  3. Gerryd

    Gerryd Plant Guru Team
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5,623
    Likes Received:
    18
    Local Time:
    12:35 PM
    There are adjustable plastic ties that can be used for this at Home Depot or any hardware or electriical store. Most likely Walmart and Target,

    They come in different sizes, white or black and work well. They are adjustable, so you can make them snug. I use two together for large rocks or wood........

    I use them until the fern takes hold. It won't grow 'into' the wood, but trust me, once the roots take hold, they are on there.

    I have found that it grows better firmly attached...........

    I also have used thread as per creighton.

    Good luck....
     
  4. creighton

    creighton Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    12:35 PM
    Tedr108,
    What did you end up doing to attach the ferns? I always hate tying them to wood. It takes so long and sometimes its really frustrating to get the string tight enough. I imagine it's not quite that way with the ties.

    Gerry,
    The ties that you use are they "zip ties". I'd imagine they're pretty tough to remove. What has been your experience?
     
  5. tedr108

    tedr108 Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    12:35 PM
    Hi Creighton,

    I did both, depending on the circumstances. Thread in one case and 2 combined zip ties in the other. If the wood is already in the water, I'm not talented enough to use thread. :)

    You just snip the zip ties to remove them, I'm sure. Even if the tie is pressed to the substrate, surely you can just pull on the buckle thing and pull the narrow strip out.

    I'll be interested to see how long it takes them to attach to the wood. I also threaded a lot of Christmas moss (sold to me as Java moss!) onto driftwood last nite and today ... hoping that takes off too. Not sure who says Java moss grows slowly, but the Java moss I put on a driftwood piece a couple of weeks ago is going crazy on me.
     
  6. creighton

    creighton Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    12:35 PM
    Aren't the ties a one time attachment. I've never been able to loosen the ties. What kind are you using?
     
  7. tedr108

    tedr108 Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    12:35 PM
    Yes, zip ties are one time and cannot be undone. I snip them with cutters, when I want to remove them.

    I hope we are talking about the same zip ties -- they are cheap. You can get like a hundred of these things for a few bucks at a hardware store.
     
  8. creighton

    creighton Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    12:35 PM
    Yeah same thing. I was a little cofused by this:

    "Even if the tie is pressed to the substrate, surely you can just pull on the buckle thing and pull the narrow strip out."

    I thought you had discovered something really awesome :) .

    You were able to zip tie the java fern without taking the wood out of the water? I'm impressed :cool: . I always have to take my wood out of the water and tie it. Time to go buy some black zip ties.

    ADA has that wood tight stuff that I'd like to try. I think it's re-useable as well. I'm going to get some of that stuff when I get some ADA AS II from Aquarium Design Group.
     
  9. Gerryd

    Gerryd Plant Guru Team
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5,623
    Likes Received:
    18
    Local Time:
    12:35 PM
    Yep, zip ties are it. They do not come undone by themselves. I also cut them with scissors or diaganol cutting pliers.

    I also tie some with the wood in the tank with the zips......Depends really on where it is. Some wood, rocks I need to remove first from tank. It is easier this way.

    Your fern should be attached in 2-4 weeks........Java moss WILL grow like mad if conditions are good..

    I usually cover the ties with a little moss until the ferns are on for good and I can remove the ties.

    Good luck! Need some pics of your artwork..........
     
  10. tedr108

    tedr108 Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    12:35 PM
    Alright, Gerry, as soon as a few things grow in, I'll post a few pics -- I've got new plants coming on Friday. I've learned a lot the hard way -- my first batch of plants was basically all weeds. I have been pulling them one by one and replacing with other plants. I'm not so sure amateurs like me should use ADA AS, because it can sure make a mess when you are changing plants. I've been doing a lot of water changes. :) Learned the hard way on that one too ... after a major plants change without a water change, I lost a few shrimp.

    It sure isn't easy to take pics of tanks ... I think it is the high light because it is very tough to expose correctly. I'm going to try with natural lighting by opening up all of my blinds and see if that works.
     
  11. Gerryd

    Gerryd Plant Guru Team
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5,623
    Likes Received:
    18
    Local Time:
    12:35 PM
    Ted,

    Yeah, I heard that about ADA. Is why I use flourite.......works pretty well for me so far.........

    Pics:

    I use a 2.1 megapixel digital camera that is pretty outdated (obsolete by mfg).

    I turn the FLASH OFF, and just use the tank lights, and the pics come out okay........

    However, I do have MH lights, so this makes a diff.....plus they are suspended 12-15" above the tank.

    Good luck.
     
Loading...

Share This Page