This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Unfortunately for Photobucket users, things have changed in a big way as of June 26th they are rolling out a $399 per year subscription fee for those who want to hotlink images from Photobucket’s servers to display elsewhere.
    This does not mean it only affects this site, It now means that billions of images across the Web now display an error message instead of the image in question. :(
    https://barrreport.com/threads/attention-photobucket-users.14377/
    Dismiss Notice

Is there a downside with using Eheim as CO2 reactor?

Discussion in 'CO2 Enrichment' started by Russ, Dec 29, 2006.

  1. Russ

    Russ Guest

    I've been experimenting with various injection methods from misting to in-line reactors and it seems that I get good results by just feeding CO2 into the intake of my Eheim. Is there a downside to doing it that way?

    thanks,

    Russ
     
  2. Tom Barr

    Tom Barr Founder
    Staff Member Administrator Social Group Admin

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,458
    Likes Received:
    323
    Noise and gurgle. I think more O2 is better for the bacteria in there rather than high CO2, just like fish.
    But it typically is not a large issue, I'd not worry about it.

    Regards,
    Tom Barr
     
  3. richardsantink

    richardsantink Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    For what it's worth, I had read that it is hard on rubber seals etc.. but after doing it in my previous setup for two+ years in my Eheim, they show no signs of deterioration.

    RAS
     
  4. Russ

    Russ Guest

    Thanks guys. The noise is minimal with this model, an Eheim 2026. I just bought a Kent Marine venturi, so I'll be experimenting with that too.

    -Russ
     
  5. shane

    shane Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why the input of the Eheim and not the output of the Eheim? Does it matter?
     
  6. Tom Barr

    Tom Barr Founder
    Staff Member Administrator Social Group Admin

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,458
    Likes Received:
    323
    Bubbles hit the impeller, grinds the gas up, dissolves it.
    Venturi added to the output will do the same thing but add CO2 mist directly into the tank rather than dissolving it, allowing for a direct gas into the plant as well as dissolved CO2.

    Regards,
    Tom Barr
     
  7. crollner

    crollner Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm looking to insert c02 into my aquarium. How did you insert the c02 line into the intake of your eheim. I have a 2026. Thanks. any pictures would be appreciated!

    Any problems with the setup?
     
  8. Bedpan

    Bedpan Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got the same question. Anyone dare to elaborate? I am a total newbie and thinking about trying out some DIY CO2.. have been reading a lot of people using their canister filter as the reactor. Just need to figure out how to get the CO2 into the input line of my Ehiem 2213.

    Thanks folks!

    Mike

     
  9. Singtoh

    Singtoh Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have tried many of the options described on different forums to get the CO2 dissolved. Power heads, diffusers, bubble ladders ect.ect. Now what I have done is connect the CO2 line to the output hose of my EHEIM 2234 cannister using a check valve rite near the outlet of the pump. This then travels thru my chiller and out into the tank. I see no CO2 bubbles coming out into the tank, so I guess its getting dissolved 100%. I get pearling after 1hr lights on, and according to the Drop Checker(don't trust it too much) I have plenty of CO2 in the water. This way is clean and hassel free for me and seems to work great, no clogging of diffusers, no cleaning of crap sucked into the powerheads ect. ect. I have a chiller due to the fact my tank, without it reaches 33C. This is Thailand. Just another option for some who may run chillers.

    Cheers,

    Singtoh
     
  10. scottward

    scottward Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    8
    Russ,

    I was feeding my CO2 into my Eheim 2217. The problem I found was that as the filter starting to clog up the CO2 output became variable leading to lots of BBA. I think a dedicated device for CO2 is the way to go. Let the Eheim just be the filter and use something else for the CO2.

    Scott.
     
  11. Gbark

    Gbark Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    1
    i use a pollen glass difuser with a small eheim just above it, seams to work well:)
     
  12. Ratfish

    Ratfish Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    In my experience, feeding co2 directly into a filter intake has killed off the nitrifying bacteria and caused green water algae blooms. This happened a few different times to me before I realized what the cause was. This was with an aquaclear overflow filter though.
     
  13. inkslinger

    inkslinger Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    IMO: You may cause an air-lock due to the motor been on top of the canister an ruin your filter ? I think the Mag 350 filter would be best the motor sits at the bottom of the filter.
     
  14. scottward

    scottward Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    8
    Yeah, if you pump the CO2 in at a fairly rapid rate. This has happened to me a few times where CO2 was building up in a bend in the tubing, then suddenly burping it's way into the pumps impellor all of a sudden; makes a hell of a noise.

    If you pump the CO2 in slow enough though I don't think you'll have a problem.

    Can't qualify what I mean by 'slow enough' - you'd have to experiment.
     
  15. Gbark

    Gbark Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    1
    I would imagine the best way would be to position a polen glass difuser under the intake of the eheim, so the small CO2 bubbles get sucked up into the filter :)

    I wouldn't do this, but my LFS does
     
    #15 Gbark, Mar 12, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 12, 2010
  16. Brian20

    Brian20 Guest

    my best experience is with my DIY reactor. It works nice, mantenaince free, no noise at 3 bps. Disolve CO2 fast. Plants pearling a lot!!!
     
Loading...

Share This Page