This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Is someone kind enough to check my preliminary planning?

Discussion in 'Are you new to aquatic plants? Start here' started by KyleWY, Aug 4, 2014.

1. KyleWY

KyleWY Junior Poster

Local Time:
    3:11 PM
    Hello all, I'm new to the aquatic plant keeping community and this will be my first post on this board. After admiring (online) the planted tanks of others for some time now, I've decided I'd like a low tech (no CO2, no Excel) 10 gallon planted tank of my own. Perhaps adding a Betta later if everything goes well.

Part of my motivation is due to the fact that I've recently been presented with the opportunity to inherit some basic equipment (10 gallon tank, light hood, filter, and gravel), but before I jump completely in headfirst, I wanted to run my proposed setup by this board to ensure that I'm not going to spend a whole bunch of money only to end up with an overly elaborate device to kill aquatic plants.

Now, I do have a very key limitation, and that is budget. I am an adult who has returned to college, so I can't justify spending money left and right. I'm not trying to win any aqua-scape contests, I just want a tank that will support healthy plants and maybe a Betta, nothing more. Basically, I just want something to look nice in our apartment. A secondary limitation, is that there are no pet stores where I live. The closest thing I suppose is a Walmart.

So, I was thinking about a setup based largely on this article:
    http://www.sudeepmandal.com/hobbies/planted-aquarium/low-tech-planted-tank-guide/