This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Interesting algae and tank resistence observation with raising fry

Discussion in 'General Plant Topics' started by Tom Barr, Sep 7, 2011.

1. Tom Barr

Tom Barr Founder
    Staff Member Administrator

Local Time:
    6:00 PM
    In my 180 gal tank, I have been breeding Sturisoma for about the last 6+ months regularly.

In trying to maximize the fry survival, I've tried a few different methods. The one that seems to work the best is a floating tray method:
    [​IMG]

This tray has become very foul and covered with 3-4 different species of algae, just like you would expect from a neglected aquarium. While there is exchange with small holes drilled in the tray, the fish and exchange rate is likely less than the tank itself. Still, there is no algae in the main tank. Only in the tray. Algae eaters are inside and outside the tray. Nutrients are the same except for fish waste which is higher inside the tray. Light is higher, about 110 micromol inside the tray, but in the tank, it will depend on where, but there are spots on the wood and glass that are this high also, and no algae there.

As there are no plants inside the tray, CO2 is not much of a factor.

Possible reasons for having algae in the tray:
    1. High fish loads(NH4/organic N)
    2. Poor current
    3. Too much light
    4. Poor gas exchange

Why is there no algae in the main tank?

That is what strikes me the most about this.

1. Spores are clearly present and getting into the main tank continuously
    2. Algae eaters are present in and outside the the tray
    3. Light is the same is several locations