This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

    https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Intake strainers

Discussion in 'General Plant Topics' started by Gerryd, Nov 17, 2008.

  1. Gerryd

    Gerryd Plant Guru Team
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5,623
    Likes Received:
    18
    Local Time:
    5:37 AM
    Hey all,

    I am looking for two 1" strainers.

    The ones I have have an open top, so stuff can get in that way. They are encased within a large sponge.

    Others I have purchased have had a closed top and they restricted flow considerably.

    What do you folks use that have drilled intakes? Do you also use a sponge on them?

    I am thinking of removing my wier walls now that I went closed loop. They currently hide the sponge/strainers and provide skimming, but I would like to remove them and get the space.

    Thanks as always.
     
  2. JDowns

    JDowns Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    22
    Local Time:
    5:37 AM
    I'd have to go by the LFS that I get mine down the street and check on the manufacturer. But they carry a large pore closed top prefilter sponge that works great on a 1" intake fitting. I think the importance is in the larger pore size to not restrict flow. I can check on it today for you if needed.
     
  3. Gerryd

    Gerryd Plant Guru Team
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5,623
    Likes Received:
    18
    Local Time:
    5:37 AM
    Jdowns,

    That would be great. I scoured the LFS in my area and no luck. Ones on the web are with a closed top...

    No rush. Appreciate the effort.
     
  4. Tom Barr

    Tom Barr Founder
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,648
    Likes Received:
    557
    Local Time:
    5:37 AM
    Use a drill to add holes on the top.
    I add a sponge prefilter to all intakes on every tank.
    Keeps shrimp out, adds longer life to the cleaning frequency etc.

    I clean them often(2x a week typically).

    Regards,
    Tom Barr
     
  5. Gerryd

    Gerryd Plant Guru Team
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5,623
    Likes Received:
    18
    Local Time:
    5:37 AM
    Tom,

    Yes I do the same, the sponges help a lot...........

    I was trying to avoid the drilling as the caps are hard plastic and small.

    My hands aren't as steady as they used to be..........

    No vise either, before you ask :)
     
  6. JDowns

    JDowns Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    22
    Local Time:
    5:37 AM
    These are what I use.

    Pentair Aquatics 1" Strainer Slip at Big Al's Online

    with

    Pondmaster Pondmaster Mag Drive 9.5, 12, 18 Prefilter Pondmaster Mag Drive 9.5, 12, 18 Prefilter

    I remove the strainer that comes with that prefilter and use the 1" slip. That prefilter has the largest pore size that I've been able to find locally. I did shave about an inch off of two sides to make it fit nicer into my overlow. I don't notice any difference wether the prefilter is on or off so it gets plenty of flow in my configuration.

    If you have a blow torch you coud just heat up a drill bit / small screwdriver head and melt your holes in the top if you feel you need more flow.

    Hope that helps.
     
  7. Gerryd

    Gerryd Plant Guru Team
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5,623
    Likes Received:
    18
    Local Time:
    5:37 AM
    Jdowns,

    Thanks for the links. Will check the products out..........

    Tom,

    Yes I rinse my sponge pre-filters twice a week as well. Really helps keep the NC cleaner..
     
Loading...

Share This Page